Dodge SRT Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
331 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Please forgive me if this is a total newby question, but what exactly is the difference in the strut bars and the sway bars in all manners except for looks, obviously, and which ones do you recommend or can I put both on? I have no idea.

·
Registered
173 Posts
Strut bars mount under your hood and/ or in your truck. They tie the strut bars together. Sway bars are under your car in both front and rear and reduce side to side sway. You can use both or just one or the other. I have larger sway bars and strut bars front and rear on my car. I love the way the car handles. I put the strut bars on first and noticed a huge difference in handling and they improve the ride over rough terrain. I did notice an improvement with the larger sway bars as well, but not as much as with the strut bars.

·
Registered
604 Posts
128fan said:
Strut bars mount under your hood and/ or in your truck. They tie the strut bars together. Sway bars are under your car in both front and rear and reduce side to side sway. You can use both or just one or the other. I have larger sway bars and strut bars front and rear on my car. I love the way the car handles. I put the strut bars on first and noticed a huge difference in handling and they improve the ride over rough terrain. I did notice an improvement with the larger sway bars as well, but not as much as with the strut bars.
which brand of strut bars did you get ??

·
Registered
4,558 Posts
128fan said:
lmao, i dont know why but you must have it backwards. You will notice a much larger difference with larger sway bars then just a strut tower (considering you get a sway bar thats atleast larger then stock). I have a progress rear sway bar and it made a ton of difference. Alot more then a strut bar would do.

*Strut bars add rigidity to the frame
*Sway bars reduce body roll

·
Registered
20 Posts