Dodge SRT Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If anyone could help me with some info on what the cheapest/best way to go is for getting some snow tires and maybe some steel wheels? I dont think the KDW's are going to cut it with MI winters. Any help would be great! I am new to the SRT world!!...but luvin' it!!

·
Registered
570 Posts
16" VW steel rims

205/55-16 tires

almost exact stock size, fit perfect, had em on for 3 months...

I want to try 215/55-16 for next year, they're a little bigger (1%) than stock, but I don't know if they'll the rub...

·
Registered
61 Posts
I live in MI too.. I got my SRT back in Feb. of this year.. And I only had to try to drive one day in about 2 inches of snow. And I can tell you this.. It will not move in snow!!!! Those BFG's are REALLY bad in snow. At least that is my experiance. I bought snow tires the same week. I got Blizzaks but never got enough snow again since to use them so I can't tell you how well they will work. I hope they work well cause winter is comming and I need it to work all year long. For wheels I bought some MODA R4's that may have been a stupid decision that I am begining to regret... I have another thread about my wheel problems. But that's a whole other story.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks guys for the suggestions, I think I will just buy some tires to fit my factory wheel to save some money. Then again, it might be worth it to buy separate wheels, Im kinda torn! :rofl:

·
Registered
570 Posts
I only paid $450 for the wheels and tires I used in the winter, and I don't have to get the tires mounted and balanced twice a year.

I keep the salt off my regular rims...and if I hit a big pothole I can't see in the snow on cheap steel rims and flat spot one of them, no big deal...