Dodge SRT Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,083 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'd like to take my SRT-4 to a track to race, rather than risk racing on the street, but though I've found a number of tracks in the area I don't really understand all of the lingo or requirements. What kind of races should I look for? Are their certain associations that I should seek? What class would the car fit into? How do I get started without looking like a total newb?

Thanks,
Dan

·
Banned
27,026 Posts
To Drag race on a track you need no association except that of you and your car. Now what you need to do is find out when they are doing Test&Tune nights at your local drag strip. Since you are not running 12s yet you need no helmet. Bewary of doing burn outs after getting the tires wet (YOUR CAR IS NOT DRAG SLICK/RADIAL EQUIPPED SO DONT DO IT!) in the box. Dont worry about the guy next to you until you feel you have enough pratice to actually race someone. If you dont feel comfy letting everyone see your times just ask that N/T be written on ur window. Have fun and good luck...BTW when the last yellow lights up on the tree start to let out the clutch :wink:

man you are a Dan too?? damn...im Dan, Terminator is Dan and you too...how old are you dude?

·
Registered
1,083 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Okay, that's great advice. Thanks. There's a Test & Tune night this Sunday at my local track. Hopefully it won't rain, so I can check it out.

I'm 43, going on 17. ;-) I feel like I should know this stuff, but I've never had a car that was worth racing before.

·
Premium Member
5,247 Posts
acr2nv said:
man you are a Dan too?? damn...im Dan, Terminator is Dan and you too...how old are you dude?
Okay, the forum is over the limit on Dans. One of you must change your name immediately!!!! :lol: :lol:

I'd offer some advice, but I'm in the same boat, Drolander is.

·
Banned
27,026 Posts
Grunge said:
acr2nv said: