Dodge SRT Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
1,617 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yep, I'm "one of those guys" who Santa brought a new camera. In the form of an after Christmas sale at the local camera store. I have no SLR experiance digital or otherwise. In fact my only film experiace was with an old B&W Poloroid land camera when I was like ten or eleven years old. I loved the instant gratification of the Poloroid but "film is expensive", said my father. So my photography hobby died young.:crying: I've had a couple P&S digitals, but as I've gotten older my hands have become less steady. I'm a carpenter not a brain surgeon. So I found those small cameras frustrating.
Anyhow, here are some shots I've taken while trying to learn how this new toy/tool works. Constructive criticism from the mainstayers in this section (and you know who you are) would be highly reguarded.

Thank you for browsing. :hi:

·
Registered
1,617 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
They all look awesome. Damn sure better than ill ever take
Thank you, hillbill. I think you maybe underestimating yourself, tho. My equipment is nothing special, strictly entry level. Kinda like the srt4 of cameras compared to the Lambos and Bugattis some true photographers shoot with. Imagination, I think, is more important than hardware. Then comes skill with said hardware. The former comes free of charge. The latter, well, I have the feeling I'm about to pay the price in the form of some harsh technical criticism, to hone my skills.

·
Registered
1,010 Posts
I like the black and white 2nd from last. I would say practice tons. I like that cat. They are very easy subjects to practice on as well. Work on brighter exposures, fool around with post processing and interesting crops. Look at others work online or in books, find what you like and try to shoot similar shots. It can be a rewarding hobby.

·
SRTforums Member, Photography Police, 2011 Calenda
5,071 Posts