Dodge SRT Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
282 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone! Looking for some input please.

Im in the middle of trying to get my first SRT-4. Based on this section, im not the only one so that makes me feel much better. Im new to buying all together... about to pay off my first financed vehicle in 3 payments.

This has been a difficult 13 year journey wanting this car... Friday ill get to start one up for the first time :) This will be the last attempt to get one bc of the age and not being able to get financed. They would rather put me into a car I cannot afford vs the car I want or can afford. Its been vicious!

Anyways...I am very through in my research, checking out the high mileage threads currently. Also the ACR authenticity thread. Id like some quick input before I start getting starry eyed and the teenage anxiety kicks in! I have time to search and buy but the good ones dont last long and it seems I need to be willing to travel a bit - which I am.

So ill jump right into my questions then:

*If you have some good threads on buying, high mileage stories - I would appreciate links, I love reading them.

*Quick tips on what to specifically look for as far as old mods, wear, etc...? Should I post engine bay pics?

*I doubt I can get a compression test done before a purchase but is there any other things I can do? Can I ask a dealer for a state inspection? Do I take it down the road to a shop?

*The "Key Trick" is the check hidden codes right? 3 clicks into the ON position?

*Mileage - im trying to locate some around 50-60K but its very difficult. What is considered a "safe buy"? 75K with only 2 owners, close to stock? 100K, 1 owner, super clean, stock?

Thanks!

·
Registered
282 Posts
Discussion Starter #2