Dodge SRT Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,898 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As I have said in past threads, I am completely new to the turbo scene, so please, if this is a dumb question, now you know why. Whener I let off the gas, whether it is to upshift, or goosing it and letting off, watching the turbo guage, whenever the needle backs off from wherever it was, be it in the positive or negative, I can here what sounds like air escaping from something. Is this the BOV? I thought it only worked when it passes a given amount pressure,....or does it work all the time, whenever the RPM's come back down to idle. I have had the car for about 3 weeks now and never noticed it before, but tonight I was driving with the windows up and a/c on low, talking to my wife when I noticed it.
Is this normal?

Thanks,
Steve

·
Registered
1,898 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
just under 700

·
Registered
534 Posts
Did you do any mods to it. I know w/ my friends REX he put a new turbo back exhaust system, and you can hear his wastegate. Also your BOV probably wouldnt be blowing off all the time, although once agian, w/ my friends REX he has the psi set so high that his BOV is always blowing off at random times throughout his acceleration. I'm not sure b/c i havnt driven in one, this might be your wastegate but thats more of a whining sound than anything. Right now w/ your info you gave me, i would assume its your BOV b/c BOV's work all the time to release the "excess" pressure also considering that your needle goes into vacuum. But i'm not 100% sure...see what other people say. This might be the reason though.

Or it could be your A/C...probably not b/c its a new car, but w/ my minivan whenever i accelerate w/ it on, the belt gives a loud loud loud squeek...but thats probably not it.

·
Registered
1,898 Posts
Discussion Starter #5