Dodge SRT Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here's the background.....i'm a 19 year old male, and I have a car that is kinda running down. I live at home with no expenses except insurance, and I'm looking to get a new car. The problem is I was looking at the SRT-4, but there's no way I'm gonna get the loan. I have 3 grand saved up, and I have already been approved for a loan of 7500 dollars. I just started thinking about getting a motorcycle instead of a car, cuz I don't necessarily "need" a car to haul things. I don't have much in my car ever, just my school books. So all that could fit on the bike. And if I ever want to hang out with my friends, they can always drive. Anyways, what do some of u think? Is this too impractical/unsafe for someone my age? Or is this a feasible idea? It would be much cheaper all around then getting a car....and I think much more fun. Of course it's more dangerous...but I feel i'm a responsible/good driver. And with the proper training I could be the same on a bike. Any feedback positive or negative is appreciated....

·
Registered
726 Posts
I think it depends on a lot of variables. Where do you live? A bike might be a feasable option if you live in the south and never see snow. Also, do you mind riding in the rain? While you can operate a motorcycle safely in the rain, do you really want to? Trust me, it's no fun putting on all the rain gear/taking it off whenever you have somewhere to go. On the plus side, bikes are a blast to ride and are economical transportation. Bottom line for me - having a bike is great, but have it as a second vehicle. Gotta have 4 wheels for when the weather is bad.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Bike-Car??