Dodge SRT Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey I was just wondering if purchasing one of these is worth the time? I am a college student looking at getting an 05 with 116k miles on it. Will I have to put a lot of time into this car stock only? Its 8 grand for the car and I want a reliable car with some power that I can mod in the future. So just curious what y’all think.

·
Registered
43 Posts
the srt4 was my first car and its been a year and a half and i drive it almost everyday since it is my daily driver, i got it at 176k miles and it has almost 194k right now and the only problem i have had is overheating which was my fault since i decided to have the radiator cap slightly open :|, i got mine with some simple bolts on but working on the car so far has been fun and easy, and since the car is stock you will definitely learn even more lol but it all depends on you tbh do you fall in love with materialistic things? and the car has a good aftermarket so yea you could mod it in the future, the only con i don't like about the car is gas, if i step on the throttle a lot i get 18 mpg and if i drive like a normal human being i get 21 mpg and i have to refill it almost every 4 days since my commute is 41 miles round trip, i believe the car can last for a good amount of years with a rebuild kit as well and you probably wont need to get another car if you decide not to go overboard, but if the car hasnt been worked on you might need to do water pump, and timing belt change, i did it to a regular neon and it wasnt that hard tbh just the 4th engine mount was a pita but i dont know if there is a huge difference between the 2.0l and 2.4l but like i said it depends on you and how good the car has been maintained before. and maybe try bargaining the price? it is low mileage but idk i feel like 8k is a lot but thats me

·
Super Moderator
16,958 Posts