Dodge SRT Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My first autocross in the SRT-4 was Sunday, March 9. I’ve been autocrossing sporadically since 1986 and fairly regularly since I got my Neon ACR coupe in 1997. I left the ACR stock until the contingency program ended and then started modifying it to compete in DSP. But, how did the SRT-4 do?

There are several things that I noted: (1) the Michelin Pilot Sports are fairly good street tires, but they’re not good autocrossing tires. The car understeers badly. I’m trying to figure what size tire will fit on the ridiculously small (in width) stock rims without ruining my ability to reach 60 mph in second gear; (2) the brakes require some getting used to if you’re not accustomed to anti-lock brakes. The ACR had Hawk HPS pads and barely tapping the brakes slowed the car immediately; the SRT-4 brakes require much greater effort (although the brakes are very, very good once the pads bite); (3) the power is awesome. It pulled beautifully in second gear no matter the speed at which I started. However, the absence of an LSD was evident at numerous places on the course (the inside tire would spin quite a bit). An excellent driver who runs a Subaru WRX rode with me and commented on the amount of wheel spin exiting corners (He also praised the power of the SRT-4!); (4) there is quite a bit of body roll. My friend (who bought my ACR) video-taped my runs (I haven’t seen them yet, but he commented on the body roll). The ACR had Koni struts and MOPAR extra high rate springs, and I haven’t driven a stock ACR a long time.