Dodge SRT Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to turbo cars as you can tell by the topic. I've had my SRT for about 9 months now and I'm still not really sure what's the purpose of an intercooler. I just know that turbo cars have them and I'm assuming they help keep the turbo cool.

I noticed that some of you have the big intercooler and I was wondering what's the benefit of a larger intercooler. Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
2,129 Posts
When the compressed air leaves the turbo it is very hot. The intercooler cools the air so it will create better power once it gets into the intake manifold.

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Oh, so a bigger intercooler helps cool more air and allows more cool air into the intake manifold?

·
Registered
907 Posts
it goes back down to phsics....colder air is more dense. so by cooling the air from the turbo u allow more of it to go into the engine

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
AnimalCracker885 said:
it goes back down to phsics....colder air is more dense. so by cooling the air from the turbo u allow more of it to go into the engine
So, when air is sucked in through the intake, it goes directly through the turbo, then through the intercooler and into the intake manifold?

·
Registered
2,129 Posts
bigmixx said:
So, when air is sucked in through the intake, it goes directly through the turbo, then through the intercooler and into the intake manifold?
yes sir.

·
Registered
903 Posts
The turbo compresses the air. As you compress the air, the air heats up (basic gas laws will tell you this - PV=nRT). In order to keep intake temps down, build power, and decrease the risk of detonation, intercoolers are used to cool the compressed air from the turbo down to a more appropriate level.

·
Registered
172 Posts