Dodge SRT Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,872 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought my E1 used, didn't have anything wrong with it when I put it on. I've had it on my car for about 60k. I haven't noticed anything wrong with it, but I was just wondering when you guys recommend getting a rebuild for your turbos, what all is replaced, and how much is it?

Thanks

·
Registered
103 Posts
I would think that if you're not having problems with it to just hold off on the rebuild until you NEED to rebuild it. It might go out for a rebuild and Ohoh they didn't do such a good job and it needs to get sent out again. I have no experience with having turbos rebuilt but i had a re-manufactured turbo of mine last less than 3k miles before it started pouring oil into my exhaust manifold. 2¢

·
Registered
1,872 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I would much rather the FM guys chime in, especially since you have no experience with turbo rebuilds. This isn't my first rodeo with a turbo, and I know different companies/manufacturers have different guidelines when it comes to rebuilding them. Besides, I would much rather get it done before something goes wrong than to have something go wrong and it end up messing something else up, i.e. compressor fins in the engine. Plus if I send it to them and they say that it doesn't need a rebuild, then it will have at least been inspected.

·
Registered
1,872 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Ok, but say I did send it to you guys just to get checked and the turbine and compressor fins were fine, what would you guys charge to replace the bearing and rebalance the assembly? I'm usually not one to wait until something breaks, that's why they call it preventative maintenance.

·
Registered
97 Posts
PM sent