Dodge SRT Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Everyone knows that the hotter the air, the harder it is for an engine to produce power. Especially with turboed cars. N/A cars are effected but not nearly as much. For my big turbo setup, I refuse to even drive the car if it's too hot outside. And if it's above 75-80 degree range out, it never sees boost. My difference is night and day, huge amounts of lost power when it's too hot. I have a 180 degree stat and it maintains that as long as it's cool enough out. Once the summer comes, it runs at stock 195-200ish temp even at highway speeds. How much of a difference does it make for everyone else? I swear I lose 50+ wheel horse if not more when the weather gets sticky. Does everyone else have that much of a drastic change? I think it's pretty interesting every car responds differently. Any stories comment :)

·
Registered
30 Posts
The heat is making your tires super duper sticky so no more chirping...

Seriously though, there is a formula, I will attempt to demonstrate:

Considering that a fixed volume of air passes through your engine each stroke, it will be our constant. The variable is density of the air which you burn. Dense air = More oxygen, duh. "The change in horsepower is proportional to the inverse square root of the ratio of the two temperatures."* For example, I will assume my car produces 235whp on a 50* December day. On a steamy 100* day, there should be a difference in power of -4.79% which would mean my car would hypothetically make 223.75whp. I think a 11hp difference is not negligible.

Here's what I read: Kansas: Temperature and Horsepower »
*Their words, not mine.

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·