Dodge SRT Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,053 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Now, while Im new to the turbo game, I have been reading all your posts on things and am learning alot. What I need to know, is with out having to buy a good A/F gauge and the lot, if I get a MBC what is the limit it could be set af safely? I spike at about 14 PSI and run at 11-12 WOT. Would it be safe to set the boost to 15 PSI? It would probably spike to 17, then run at 14-15? Is it even worth it? Im just trying to get a little more out of the car, with out having to go hi tech/ big budget. Thanks for the wealth of info here!

·
Registered
180 Posts
Yes, you will be safe at 15 psi. Until someone monitors what's happening past 15 psi, we're not sure what the limits of the stock system are.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Tuning via an a/f gauge is a disservice to your car. Get the MBC goto a dyno preferably one that is familiar with turboed cars and tune it there. The A/F gauge will give you indications of a problem with your car but is not accurate enough to safely tune by. If you do get an A/F guege get the dawes devices one or a wideband one. I would also recommend an EGT gauge I would recommend the egt over the A/F in fact.

·
Registered
11,093 Posts
YOu can run 15psi all day long with no problems. IF it spikes to 16-17 and settles at 15 your good to go and you will feel a big difference.

My dyno showed 11/1 fuel on the wideband and thats a safe number. 12/1 is more aggressive but is a good number for putting down power. 12.5/1 is the max I would go. But yeah you should be happy at 15psi. You can boost at that all day long.

Hec

·
Registered
582 Posts
I plan on using 15 when i get my EBC. I tried acr's dollar mod and it just didn't like my car it was going 15 at partial and then 7/8 WOT it went and landed at 19 psi :shock: lets just said it came out after we stopped. But i'm sure there is some good room to play with in these cars, just don't want detonation with these pistons

·