Possible to wire turbo toys into EMS - Dodge SRT Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By SER-ious
  • 1 Post By atroph
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-27-2015, 09:45 PM Thread Starter
Premium Member (Lifetime)
 
littlepvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ft Myers, FL
Posts: 1,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member
Possible to wire turbo toys into EMS

Hey I'm in the process of making a wiring harness for my car and was wondering If I could possibly use my turbo toys to control any aspects of AEM EMS? Like would it be be possible to use the HOM to bring up a race gas map and have it automatically go back to a normal if the knoc threshold is met? Same for DAB can I use the voltages to bring different boost maps? I was even thinking of maybe using the sprayer button to control nitrous or meth injection? Has anyone tried this? Is this even possible?

PTE6765, t-4 Pro Series manifold, 3in piping from turbo to TB, Avenger Pro-Mod head, DCR IM, DCR intercooler w/ 3in inlet and outlet,
DCR: 2.6 over 40, CP Ignition,
Mopar: Sway Bars, S3R CO, Ti Strut Bars, RCAs, Camber Plates
Rage-Tek: LCA, HTOB, Triple Fuel Pumps, 3/4 fork
Monster: Triple Disc
AEM: EMS w/ 3.5 BAR sensor
Boomba: All 3 MM
littlepvt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-28-2015, 04:35 PM
SRTforums Member
 
atroph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 1,921
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Garage
It is possible to do this but the auto switch over isn't a function within the EMS. Unfortunately the SRT manual does not cover the "Toys" so I can not find where they exactly wire into the PCM/EMS. You would have to backprobe the connectors to see if it is a "dumb" switch or if the Toys sends a signal to the PCI bus. If it is a dumb switch then you can set it to anything you want. I highly doubt it will be worth anything if it uses the PCI bus. Easiest thing to do is open AEM PRO and monitor the inputs. Flip the toys switch a few time and see if anything changes.

I run the secondary map from a toggle switch to my W/I kit. When the kit is armed I am using my nitrous map. When the water bottle is empty the W/I kit disables the signal to the EMS and it goes back to the regular map. I can configure my display to tell if I am on the regular or nitrous map so I don't have to look at the status LED.

Here is my setup tucked in the center console bucket:

The phone jack is for my wideband gauge, the toggle and green led is for the W/I kit, and the button and red led is for the LC1 wideband. The wideband gauge is wrapped in the paper towel below (now in an airplane size crown royal bag).



atroph is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-28-2015, 05:26 PM
SRTforums Member
 
SER-ious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,030
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
I had my ems set up with two different Maps that I could switch back and forth. My toggle switch was in the small cubby under the radio in the very back.

One map was pump 93 and flip the switch and it was for c16.
SER-ious is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-01-2015, 02:32 PM
SRTforums Member
 
MISTERak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SER-ious View Post
I had my ems set up with two different Maps that I could switch back and forth. My toggle switch was in the small cubby under the radio in the very back.

One map was pump 93 and flip the switch and it was for c16.
I'll play dumb here for a second...how did you accomplish this? Don't mean to thread jack!!

-Kyle-
2005 Neon SRT4 - Built/S362FMW

2016 Cherokee TH - Daily Driver

2004 Ram SRT10 RC #2605 out of 3057, Built 6/16/2004 - SOLD


2008 GC SRT8 - SOLD
13.434 @ 102.15 (6100 DA) 1.91 60'
MISTERak is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-01-2015, 03:19 PM
SRTforums Member
 
SER-ious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,030
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
run it on the NOS map..Install a switch to switch map.

I didn't do it so I have no clue but can verify that it worked. When the car was tuned by the precious owned he had it tuned that way.
MISTERak likes this.

Last edited by SER-ious; 03-01-2015 at 04:37 PM.
SER-ious is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-01-2015, 06:36 PM
SRTforums Member
 
atroph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 1,921
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Garage
Yup! The EMS has the ability to run two different fuel and spark maps (normal and nitrous). All you have to do is enable an unused input to act as the toggle to switch the maps. I have mine hooked up to my W/I controller "boost safe" output. When the W/I system is in "boost safe" mode the signal line is grounded (system not armed, fault, or out of water). When not in "boost safe" mode the signal line gets +12V. So in my case when the signal is ground I am in normal mode, and when the line is +12V I am on my NOS map.
MISTERak likes this.
atroph is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-21-2015, 11:09 AM Thread Starter
Premium Member (Lifetime)
 
littlepvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ft Myers, FL
Posts: 1,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member
So I Should be able to use the Nitrous map with the HOM switch then? No possible way to have auto switch back to normail if too much knock is detected? How about for boost, any way to have multiple boost maps? Or maybe with one of the newer EMS? Or maybe I should just read the AEM EMS manual lol

PTE6765, t-4 Pro Series manifold, 3in piping from turbo to TB, Avenger Pro-Mod head, DCR IM, DCR intercooler w/ 3in inlet and outlet,
DCR: 2.6 over 40, CP Ignition,
Mopar: Sway Bars, S3R CO, Ti Strut Bars, RCAs, Camber Plates
Rage-Tek: LCA, HTOB, Triple Fuel Pumps, 3/4 fork
Monster: Triple Disc
AEM: EMS w/ 3.5 BAR sensor
Boomba: All 3 MM
littlepvt is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-21-2015, 10:21 PM
SRTforums Member
 
atroph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 1,921
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by littlepvt View Post
So I Should be able to use the Nitrous map with the HOM switch then? No possible way to have auto switch back to normail if too much knock is detected? How about for boost, any way to have multiple boost maps? Or maybe with one of the newer EMS? Or maybe I should just read the AEM EMS manual lol

I have no clue what the toys switch plugs in to. I'd open the inputs section and monitor them while moving the switches and see if any of them change.

You have two timing and fuel maps. You can switch between them by using a nitrous switch. The input can be assigned to any discrete input to the EMS.

The same is true for boost, but I believe that all you can change is the boost target. Like switch off = 15 psi and switch on = 20 psi. I don't run boost control from the EMS so I can't be 100% sure. I could regurgitate the manual but how would that help you? I'd suggest to dig in the manual and ask questions to parameters that you find unclear.
atroph is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome