aem serial gauge - Dodge SRT Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-19-2015, 09:39 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: lachine
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
aem serial gauge

hi can anybody explain me how to program that gauge I install the aem pro gauge but I cant get conection to the gauge

I am using my usb to serial adapter to the db9 femal to female to db9 from serial gauge but no connection

I am using the same usb adapter that I use to tune my aem ems so the adapter is not the problem

thank you
ericfilion64 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-19-2015, 10:56 PM
SRTforums Member
 
atroph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 1,921
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericfilion64 View Post
hi can anybody explain me how to program that gauge I install the aem pro gauge but I cant get conection to the gauge

I am using my usb to serial adapter to the db9 femal to female to db9 from serial gauge but no connection

I am using the same usb adapter that I use to tune my aem ems so the adapter is not the problem

thank you
I assume that the gauge is in the car and it is powered on?

As for connecting to the gauge you may need to check your baud rate and com port to make sure it matches your USB adapter. I believe most AEM electronics use 19200 baud for serial connections from the factory.
atroph is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-19-2015, 11:19 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: lachine
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by atroph View Post
I assume that the gauge is in the car and it is powered on?

As for connecting to the gauge you may need to check your baud rate and com port to make sure it matches your USB adapter. I believe most AEM electronics use 19200 baud for serial connections from the factory.

the problem Is I cant open the gauge or any com in aem gauge software it doesn detect my com or usb adapter in the software . . yes power is on


if I plug the gauge to the ems it will read an work bur I want to customize the gauge via the software
ericfilion64 is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-19-2015, 11:39 PM
SRTforums Member
 
atroph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 1,921
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericfilion64 View Post
the problem Is I cant open the gauge or any com in aem gauge software it doesn detect my com or usb adapter in the software . . yes power is on


if I plug the gauge to the ems it will read an work bur I want to customize the gauge via the software
In the software it doesn't detect any com port? Can you point it to one like opening up AEM Pro, or does it auto detect?

I'll try to install the software to my computer and see if I can get it to see my USB serial adapter.
atroph is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-19-2015, 11:56 PM
SRTforums Member
 
atroph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 1,921
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Garage
Open a calibration file first and then you can change the comm port to the one that matches your USB adapter.

File-> Open
-AEM
-ProGauge
-CAL_Files
-BASE CAL.mdb

You should be able to connect to the gauge now.


Their manual sucks.

Last edited by atroph; 03-19-2015 at 11:58 PM.
atroph is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-20-2015, 12:02 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: lachine
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by atroph View Post
Open a calibration file first and then you can change the comm port to the one that matches your USB adapter.

File-> Open
-AEM
-ProGauge
-CAL_Files
-BASE CAL.mdb

You should be able to connect to the gauge now.


Their manual sucks.

I install they software via aem website but I cant find any base cal.mbd in the folder
running widows 7

can you do me a print screen please

Last edited by ericfilion64; 03-20-2015 at 12:05 AM.
ericfilion64 is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-20-2015, 12:05 AM
SRTforums Member
 
atroph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 1,921
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericfilion64 View Post
I install they software via aem website but I cant find any base cal.mbd in the folder
What version of Windows are you using?

Do a search of your computer.

I am on Windows 7 and it was under Libraries, Documents, AEM, ProGauge, CAL_Files, .....

It was included with the software install.

Here is the direct path:

Code:
C:\Users\%username%\Documents\AEM\ProGauge\CAL_Files
Copy paste that into your Windows Explorer if you are on Vista, 7, or 8.x

XP is (from memory):

Code:
C:\Documents and Settings\%username%\My Documents\AEM\ProGauge\CAL_Files

Last edited by atroph; 03-20-2015 at 12:17 AM.
atroph is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome