4000 rpm cut?? help?!?! - SRT Forums - SRT4, SRT6, SRT8, SRT10 & Dodge Forum
 
 


Go Back   SRT Forums - SRT4, SRT6, SRT8, SRT10 & Dodge Forum > SRT-4 Technical Discussion > Technical Tuning & EFI/EMS Electronics

SrtForums.com is the premier Dodge SRT Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2006, 10:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
srtstripes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Member Number: 42432
Location: McAllen
Posts: 152
Default 4000 rpm cut?? help?!?!

well i just recently put a 50 trim on my baby with the whole bag of goodies, well i switch boost controllers cuz the one i had wasnt working and i started to boost 25psi well after a good while on tuning the car trying to get the hang of the boost control (Turbo Xs HPBC) we tried to dyno the car, when all of the sudden the car starts making noises at 4000rpm (bogging??) we check the fuel and air and its nothing out of the ordinary, someone told me it was one of my sparp plugs that went out, well i changed the spark plugs and its still doing that, A/F is at 12.5 apprx, and i left the boost at 15 psi and it still does that, does anyone have any idea on what this is????????? please help
__________________
Do not put back what was removed - Staff

srtstripes is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-15-2006, 11:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
srtstripes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Member Number: 42432
Location: McAllen
Posts: 152
Default

also i dont have a map clamp and my stage 1 put on yet...would that mean anything?? even if im boosting 15 psi it still cutting me off at 4000rpm and it makes crazy popping noises and it keeps speeding up but very slow, when i shift it goes back to normal untill 4k rpm, and the A/F is normal no changes??!?!! wtf???!!! help
__________________
Do not put back what was removed - Staff

srtstripes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2006, 02:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
busarich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Member Number: 25901
Location: NOR CAL
Posts: 1,956
Default

Mine was cutting out at 4k rpms as well and it was my coil. My msd coil took a shit on me. I swapped it out with a friends stock one and it worked fine. Try swapping with someone local if you can.
__________________

MODS: Mostly stock

DYNO VIDEO - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NcQkdzEbry0
busarich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2006, 11:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
srtstripes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Member Number: 42432
Location: McAllen
Posts: 152
Default

lol, wow i never thought of that, well yea it was my gay ass msd coil (shit) and im on my stock one now and never happier ^_^
__________________
Do not put back what was removed - Staff

srtstripes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 04:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
busarich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Member Number: 25901
Location: NOR CAL
Posts: 1,956
Default

Glad it worked. The MSD seems to have crapped out on alot of people.
__________________

MODS: Mostly stock

DYNO VIDEO - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NcQkdzEbry0
busarich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 09:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Member Number: 92068
Location: Espanola
Posts: 6
Default

Anybody else knows what I could do to stop the boging on my srt?? It bogs at about 4000rpms and I already changed cam position sensor, spark plugs , wires. ?? Help please
Jr.redsrt4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 09:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Premium Member (Lifetime)
SRT of the Month
 
underSRTarmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Member Number: 32888
Location: N. La/ E. Tx
Posts: 9,183
Lifetime Premium Member
Default 4000 rpm cut?? help?!?!

Coil? Swap with a local if you have some

Pt gt will work.
But they a pain to get too


Sent from
__________________
TUNED By MindMelt101
MyBuild Thread
10.99 @132.23 1.70 60ft 27 psi
Need Fuel setup ideas click here
Props go out to:
Mindmelt101, Tuner Geeks, Act, Wikyd Performance, Pwerks, Porting Solutions
underSRTarmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 09:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
bene's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Member Number: 53801
Location: NC
Posts: 3,182
Default

back when i ran a dtec it would randomly give me ignition issues that would linger around for a while, then go away. Mine also happened a few times at idle too though, sounded like it was running on 3 cylinders. It was the dtec handheld messing up
bene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 09:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Member Number: 92068
Location: Espanola
Posts: 6
Default

So maybe tying a new coil.??? A friend has a srt also maybe I'll ask him if I coul swap with him see how it works.... ?
Jr.redsrt4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 09:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Premium Member (Lifetime)
SRT of the Month
 
underSRTarmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Member Number: 32888
Location: N. La/ E. Tx
Posts: 9,183
Lifetime Premium Member
Default

yes try that before you buy one...
__________________
TUNED By MindMelt101
MyBuild Thread
10.99 @132.23 1.70 60ft 27 psi
Need Fuel setup ideas click here
Props go out to:
Mindmelt101, Tuner Geeks, Act, Wikyd Performance, Pwerks, Porting Solutions
underSRTarmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 10:20 AM   #11 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Member Number: 92068
Location: Espanola
Posts: 6
Default

Does it matter if it's a normal one or aftermarket
Jr.redsrt4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 10:41 AM   #12 (permalink)
Premium Member (Lifetime)
SRT of the Month
 
underSRTarmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Member Number: 32888
Location: N. La/ E. Tx
Posts: 9,183
Lifetime Premium Member
Default

nope, if it works on thier car it should work on yours..
__________________
TUNED By MindMelt101
MyBuild Thread
10.99 @132.23 1.70 60ft 27 psi
Need Fuel setup ideas click here
Props go out to:
Mindmelt101, Tuner Geeks, Act, Wikyd Performance, Pwerks, Porting Solutions
underSRTarmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 10:47 AM   #13 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Member Number: 92068
Location: Espanola
Posts: 6
Default

Also could it be possible that your car smokes a Lil because of your oil catch can.? Any possible Way??
Jr.redsrt4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 11:00 AM   #14 (permalink)
Premium Member (Lifetime)
SRT of the Month
 
underSRTarmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Member Number: 32888
Location: N. La/ E. Tx
Posts: 9,183
Lifetime Premium Member
Default

if its full sure

or if you dont have a pcv or cv sure..
__________________
TUNED By MindMelt101
MyBuild Thread
10.99 @132.23 1.70 60ft 27 psi
Need Fuel setup ideas click here
Props go out to:
Mindmelt101, Tuner Geeks, Act, Wikyd Performance, Pwerks, Porting Solutions
underSRTarmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 11:42 AM   #15 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Member Number: 92068
Location: Espanola
Posts: 6
Default

How can I check for the Pcv?? I noticed it stopes working the catch can.??
Jr.redsrt4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:12 AM.



(C) SRTforums.com

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2