HOW-TO: Brake & Rotor Install - SRT Forums - SRT4, SRT6, SRT8, SRT10 & Dodge Forum

Go Back   SRT Forums - SRT4, SRT6, SRT8, SRT10 & Dodge Forum > SRT-4 FAQ / How To > How To Forum

SrtForums.com is the premier Dodge SRT Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2007, 10:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
SRTforums Member

Member Number: 39176
HOW-TO: Brake & Rotor Install

Here it is, brake + rotor install with pics. Please note, I am no mechanic and this is my first time ever doing this. You should feel comfortable with a wrench and have a good head on your shoulders because it'll come in handy. You may also want a mechanics phone number in case you aren't sure about something. Brakes are the most important part on your car, so don't screw it up. The install took about 5 hours from start to finish. That included me taking pictures and trying to read the cryptic service manual (You do have a copy, right?). Most of my time was spent trying to get 1 stuck bolt off (As always...), and one other thing you'll find as you read. It was not very hard to do, and was well worth saving almost $400 from having the dealer do it.

What you'll need
Brakes + Rotors, obviously. I went with the OEM Rotors (MPSC) and Hawk HPS Pads (Modern Performance)
12mm Socket or use a 12mm stubby wrench (ratcheting preferred).
18mm Socket or wrench (ratcheting preferred).
9/10mm Socket (The Husky ratchet wrench set from Home depot did wonders for this).
1 Socket Wrench, I had to use a large one to get some leverage.
100 Grit sandpaper (May not be necessary)
Bungee cords, clothes hanger, or some form of wire or rope, or use a jack stand (at correct height) or similar for the caliper to rest on. It is important that you have this.

Front Pads + Rotors