Turbo Selection Guide - Page 2 - Dodge SRT Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #16 of 174 (permalink) Old 06-10-2004, 05:00 PM
Premium Member (Lifetime)
 
Jeremy Smolik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member
thank you for an incredibly helpful post. all this stuff has been a mystery to me. however, nothing was stated about the 57 trim that seems to be the default option for this kit. whats the diff? if the 50 trim is the best all around street choice, why is the 57 the baseline?
Jeremy Smolik is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 174 (permalink) Old 06-10-2004, 05:03 PM Thread Starter
Supporting Vendor (Gold)
 
Nick@AGP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,975
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
60 trim is really the base kit. You can get a 57. It will spool as fast as a 50, but make less power than a 50 or 60. If you don't want to pay the extra $100 for a 50, and want something that spools slightly faster than a 60, then get a 57. Then again, the 60 works so much better, and the difference is near nothing in spool, just get a 60.

The 60 is really the base turbo. 57 is just another option. Honestly, I would never recommend a 57 trim.

Last edited by Nick@AGP; 06-10-2004 at 05:08 PM.
Nick@AGP is offline  
post #18 of 174 (permalink) Old 06-10-2004, 05:14 PM
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dirty Jersey
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hey Nick will the Rc 650cc work fine with the stage 2 and of course the turbo kit and all fuel mods??

Stage 2 (toys)--Perrin FMIC--Perrin UPP--HKS SSQ--AGP Intake--AGP Turbo Upgrade--ATP 3 inch Down Pipe--B&B 3 inch Ex.--IPP Carbon Hood--Carbon Lip--
Wings West Kit(stock Front)--18 inch Montegi FF5's--
MSD Wires & Coil--& a lot more


Thanks to are Vendors
& I thank are brave men and women over seas
and I would like to thank the man upstairs..which ever man it may be for u..Just give thanks
WhAtThEhElL is offline  
 
post #19 of 174 (permalink) Old 06-10-2004, 05:21 PM Thread Starter
Supporting Vendor (Gold)
 
Nick@AGP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,975
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
For stage 2, if you want to run over 20psi, we recommend the 750cc since the stage 2 computer already leans out the signal for the stage 2 injectors. With 650cc you can't go negative enough to get good timing.
Nick@AGP is offline  
post #20 of 174 (permalink) Old 06-10-2004, 05:24 PM
SRTforums Member
 
04srt4silver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
nick sorry to keep bothering you one more question when i get your turbo kit with my stage 0 04 what is the max psi i can run
then in what sequence do i need parts and what boost then can i turn it up
04srt4silver is offline  
post #21 of 174 (permalink) Old 06-10-2004, 05:32 PM Thread Starter
Supporting Vendor (Gold)
 
Nick@AGP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,975
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
You can run as much boost as you have the fuel and ability to tune for, and the turbo to support. So anywhere from 10-60psi.

Check the upgrade path for sequence of parts. Should be below this thread.
Nick@AGP is offline  
post #22 of 174 (permalink) Old 06-10-2004, 05:32 PM
Forum Moderator
 
evo77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Zion, IL
Posts: 13,295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick@AGP
For stage 2, if you want to run over 20psi, we recommend the 750cc since the stage 2 computer already leans out the signal for the stage 2 injectors. With 650cc you can't go negative enough to get good timing.
Don't know if this is true or not but I thought I read somewhere here that the S2 pcm will only work with the S2 Siemens injectors. Has anybody with S2 tried switching them yet to see?

Also, Nick can you explain what the turbo restriction is if you use a smaller intake with an adapter? I was going to use my AEM but use a 3" to 2.5" silicone coupler for the turbo.

OLD: 2003 SRT-4 is gone... thanks for the good times.

NEW: 2012 Chevy Cruze Eco... well, at least its still turbo right?
evo77 is offline  
post #23 of 174 (permalink) Old 06-10-2004, 05:41 PM Thread Starter
Supporting Vendor (Gold)
 
Nick@AGP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,975
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Well, try sucking through a 2.5" tube vs a 3". The turbo inlet is a 3" and when you try to suck through a 2.5" its just going to cause a restriction. Turbos move tons of air, and you don't want to have all sorts of restrictions and size changes.

It will work since you already have it, but for people who haven't bought anything yet, get a 3" intake.

We have used both 650 and 750 injectors with stage 2 ecus without an issue.
Nick@AGP is offline  
post #24 of 174 (permalink) Old 06-10-2004, 05:45 PM
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Myrtle Beach
Posts: 2,137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Where does the moPar Stage 3 Turbo rate on your scale? I am curious where it would fall in your writeup!

Nice job!

SRT4B is offline  
post #25 of 174 (permalink) Old 06-10-2004, 05:55 PM Thread Starter
Supporting Vendor (Gold)
 
Nick@AGP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,975
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Its suppost to be around a 20g turbo. The 20g wheel is smaller than a 50 trim, so its smaller than any of the turbos listed. Without knowing what housing and how its setup, there is no way to really rate it. Either way, a t3/t4 setup is the way to go. With stage 3, its still all one piece. If you get a 50 trim now with our kit, and decide you now want to make 600hp and want a bigger turbo, then you just swap the turbo out. Won't cost more than a few hundred bucks. Plus, rebuilding t3/t4 is cheaper and easier to do. If something happens to your stage 3 turbo, your looking at an expensive bill.
Nick@AGP is offline  
post #26 of 174 (permalink) Old 06-10-2004, 06:02 PM
Forum Moderator
 
evo77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Zion, IL
Posts: 13,295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick@AGP
Its suppost to be around a 20g turbo. The 20g wheel is smaller than a 50 trim, so its smaller than any of the turbos listed. Without knowing what housing and how its setup, there is no way to really rate it. Either way, a t3/t4 setup is the way to go. With stage 3, its still all one piece. If you get a 50 trim now with our kit, and decide you now want to make 600hp and want a bigger turbo, then you just swap the turbo out. Won't cost more than a few hundred bucks. Plus, rebuilding t3/t4 is cheaper and easier to do. If something happens to your stage 3 turbo, your looking at an expensive bill.
VERY good point.

50 trim for me!

OLD: 2003 SRT-4 is gone... thanks for the good times.

NEW: 2012 Chevy Cruze Eco... well, at least its still turbo right?
evo77 is offline  
post #27 of 174 (permalink) Old 06-11-2004, 09:29 AM
SRTforums Member
 
Blue Rocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Queens, NYC
Posts: 1,229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
whats better the 50 trim with the .48 A/R or the 50 trim with the .63 A/R?

My goal is a 450 WHP daily driver on pump gas that spools up fast.

500 AWHP, 433.XX TQ., 95.XX dyno room temps

Best Trap: 12.2 @ 124 MPH
Best E/T 11.8 @ 120 MPH
Blue Rocket is offline  
post #28 of 174 (permalink) Old 06-11-2004, 10:55 AM Thread Starter
Supporting Vendor (Gold)
 
Nick@AGP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,975
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I believe thats covered in the intial post. .48 will spool up faster, but restrict power. For that goal, you will want a .63.
Nick@AGP is offline  
post #29 of 174 (permalink) Old 06-11-2004, 11:16 AM
SRTforums Member
 
Blue Rocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Queens, NYC
Posts: 1,229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick@AGP
I believe thats covered in the intial post. .48 will spool up faster, but restrict power. For that goal, you will want a .63.

thanks nick that answers my question

500 AWHP, 433.XX TQ., 95.XX dyno room temps

Best Trap: 12.2 @ 124 MPH
Best E/T 11.8 @ 120 MPH
Blue Rocket is offline  
post #30 of 174 (permalink) Old 06-13-2004, 12:08 AM
SRTforums Member
 
OperationStorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MN
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Good job so far on the Turbo guide. This will definitely help the less knowledgeable people like myself.

Maybe an idea to add would be your info/opinion on the combination of using the Mopar Stages 0, 1, or 2 along with your Turbo upgrades. What are the advantages/disadvantages of using one Stage over another in conjunction with the AGP Turbo upgrades? Does one Stage over another create difficulties that the others don't? If there is answers to these kind of questions maybe you can help.
OperationStorm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome