Oil restrictor??? - Page 2 - Dodge SRT Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #16 of 26 (permalink) Old 09-01-2009, 05:30 PM Thread Starter
SRTforums Member
 
Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Afuckistan
Posts: 9,401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
I have brand new PVC valve, 03 vc, i had breather to TB, no check valve, heard about check valve, and also heard alot of guys just took the VC breather off the TB and cap the TB and vent the pvc out to atmosphere. So i have had this like this for a couple weeks seeing if it helped, but seem to not change anything. Sooo why would my crank psi be to high?

'freedom's not free'
11.6@120 Stock head/cams
@3650ft
Head build???
Chief is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 26 (permalink) Old 09-01-2009, 05:32 PM Thread Starter
SRTforums Member
 
Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Afuckistan
Posts: 9,401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Only reason crank psi would be high is pvc cloged and the vc cant breathe? correct? Maybe my drain is to small?

'freedom's not free'
11.6@120 Stock head/cams
@3650ft
Head build???
Chief is offline  
post #18 of 26 (permalink) Old 09-01-2009, 05:42 PM Thread Starter
SRTforums Member
 
Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Afuckistan
Posts: 9,401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
I have ccv next to the intake just out to atmosphere as well. Did not like oil in my intake, Not to mention now im just running a filter on the turbo, no intake.

do you need the pvc connected to vacum for correct crank case pressure? When i had it on the TB the turbo still pushed oil into hot side. Seem no chnage.

'freedom's not free'
11.6@120 Stock head/cams
@3650ft
Head build???
Chief is offline  
 
post #19 of 26 (permalink) Old 09-01-2009, 08:51 PM
Supporting Vendor (Gold)
 
Ben@AGP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7,419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chief View Post
Only reason crank psi would be high is pvc cloged and the vc cant breathe? correct? Maybe my drain is to small?
Or maybe because you have a hole in your piston(s).


WEBSITE | EMAIL | YOUTUBE | FACEBOOK | 480-983-6083
Ben@AGP is offline  
post #20 of 26 (permalink) Old 09-01-2009, 08:53 PM
Supporting Vendor (Gold)
 
Ben@AGP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7,419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chief View Post
do you need the pvc connected to vacum for correct crank case pressure? .
Yes, PCV needs to have vacuum pulled on it. There's not other way that you can properly evacuate the crankcase unless vacuum pulls it out.


WEBSITE | EMAIL | YOUTUBE | FACEBOOK | 480-983-6083
Ben@AGP is offline  
post #21 of 26 (permalink) Old 09-01-2009, 10:13 PM Thread Starter
SRTforums Member
 
Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Afuckistan
Posts: 9,401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
bad rings? cause high psi? Well i did not have a hole till this sunday night, May be just rings, not sure pullin piston out tomorrow.

Ill messure that drain line tomorrow and post the mesurments. Maybe i should go next hose bigger? I dont have a check valve, just had pvc CC TB Do i NEED a check valve or pvc works fine?

'freedom's not free'
11.6@120 Stock head/cams
@3650ft
Head build???
Chief is offline  
post #22 of 26 (permalink) Old 09-01-2009, 11:49 PM
SRTforums Member
 
boostedsohc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: toms river, NJ
Posts: 2,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
oil pressure about 70 psi wot
boostedsohc is offline  
post #23 of 26 (permalink) Old 09-02-2009, 08:33 AM Thread Starter
SRTforums Member
 
Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Afuckistan
Posts: 9,401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
WOW really????

Well i went ahead and bored out my brass piece its .600 on top but was only .470 at the tapper Now shes .590 at the end and .600 on top. So its almost .600 all the way through. Im gonna get a larger ID drain tube. I did have to push it over the stock tube out the block and push it over the brass piece So the ends are flared where the center is smaller. Soo gonnna get some tubbing that just slides right over the brass and drain tube. HOPING this will solve my oil push problem. IF it STILL pushes oil, Im gonna go ahead and put a restrictor on there. This is if i get my car back together before my D60 If i get the D60 im asuming i wont need a restrictor. But will have a bigger drain tube over a .100 difference!

'freedom's not free'
11.6@120 Stock head/cams
@3650ft
Head build???
Chief is offline  
post #24 of 26 (permalink) Old 09-02-2009, 11:43 AM
New Member
 
Jon@AGP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Arizona
Posts: 3,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chief View Post
bad rings? cause high psi? Well i did not have a hole till this sunday night, May be just rings, not sure pullin piston out tomorrow.

Ill messure that drain line tomorrow and post the mesurments. Maybe i should go next hose bigger? I dont have a check valve, just had pvc CC TB Do i NEED a check valve or pvc works fine?

Yes. Are you sure there wasn't damage already done, and it just got worse on Sunday? I have seen cases where someone has cracked a piston, compression numbers came out ok, but it had severe leakdown in a cylinder. It all depends on how the damage occurs and is contained.

I would not suggest running any kind of restrictor on a journal bearing turbo.
Jon@AGP is offline  
post #25 of 26 (permalink) Old 09-03-2009, 06:06 PM
Premium Member (Lifetime)
 
guhfluh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Southeast, LA
Posts: 1,786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member
Fix the excessive blowby from the pistons/rings, get the biggest and best flowing oil drain possible and go from there.

I've always worried about the excessively high oil pressures in the SRT engines wreaking havoc on the turbos and always wanted to test the pressure right at the turbo inlet w/ a gauge just to see what it reads.

Hello guhfluh it appears that you have not posted on our forums in several weeks, why not take a few moments to ask a question, help provide a solution or just engage in a conversation with another member in any one of our forums?
guhfluh is offline  
post #26 of 26 (permalink) Old 10-18-2015, 08:45 PM
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Chief, Did you get this fixed????

My ride AKA "DUCES"
Snyphor24 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome