Open Road Racing Setup info needed - Dodge SRT Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-18-2007, 05:17 PM Thread Starter
SRTforums Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Question Open Road Racing Setup info needed

Hey guys, I'm a new SRT-4 owner and have been scouring this site for almost two weeks. I am an amateur open road racer, Sand Hills Open Road Challenge and the upcoming Silver State Classic Challenge. One of the primary reasons I bought the SRT-4 was to serve as my daily driver and ORR car - it's way cheaper than a vette and a lot more practical. That being said, this is only the second turbo car I've owned (a long time ago 1991 Eagle Talon 16V AWD turbo) so I'm learning a lot from this forum - theres' a lot of very educated folks here. I have found a lot of info on drag racing, HP upgrades and autocross set-ups, but nothing pertaining to the handling and sustained high speeds of an open road challenge. I'll be starting in the 110 mph class and working my way to the 125 mph class. These often see speeds in excess of 120 mph for 25 - 30 miles at a time. Not including any safety equipment upgrades, what might you guys suggest as modifications to the exhaust, turbo, suspension, brakes, wheels and tires or any thing else you can think of?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-18-2007, 05:29 PM
SRTforums Member

search this section for information posted by Dale Seeley, as a good start.
He raced his SRT-4 in One Lap of America successfully for a number of years.

Good-bye, SRT.
post #3 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-18-2007, 05:39 PM
SRTforums Member

Also, look for posts by Richard Worley (his name and screen name). He is an SCCA racer here in CO that has done many open road races in his SRT4. You should find a lot of what you are looking for from him. Not sure if he posts here anymore, but everything can be found in the search.

Rick

Rick Snyder
Snyder Motorsports