Dodge SRT Forum banner

srt running hot

1K views 6 replies 5 participants last post by  blackbird_R/T 
#1 ·
i have a 180 degree thermostat but my temperature still rises to about 205 to 210 degrees and the hotter it gets the more coolant goes into my over flow tank. also the coolant isnt sucking back into the radiator when its in my over flow tank. ive changed the cap, coolant, ive replaced the water pump and timing belt, fans work. idk if my radiator is getting clogged and needs to be replaced, thats the next thing i was gonna do but was just asking before i spend the money. also when my AC is on it gets even hotter. i need answers.

#2 ·
Installing a 180° thermostat will do nothing to keep the car running cooler at lower speeds and when stopped unless you also modify the computer calibration to lower the threshold the radiator fans come on. If you're only seeing not over 205-210 degrees that's not abnormal, especially on a hot day or if you're using the air conditioning and in stop and go traffic.

If it was going significantly higher than that you might have a problem. Is it spiking and the gauge jumping up and down a lot? Expansion into the overflow is perfectly normal if it stays between the min and max lines but is it bubbling or gurgling or you can see large amounts pushed out into the tank at once? If so, those are normally signs of air trapped in the system or the possibility the head gasket is leaking compression gaskets into the coolant passages although with mutli-layer steel (MLS) OEM head gaskets you may see external leaks or signs of coolant-oil mixing as well. They usually tend to fail catastrophically.