Oil light on at idle, I have a oil pressure gauge , need some help! - SRT Forums - SRT4, SRT6, SRT8, SRT10 & Dodge Forum
 
 


Go Back   SRT Forums - SRT4, SRT6, SRT8, SRT10 & Dodge Forum > SRT-4 Other Discussion > SRT Problems & Dealer Service

SrtForums.com is the premier Dodge SRT Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2012, 07:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lav
SRTforums Member
 
Lav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Member Number: 79804
Location: Houston
Posts: 299
Default Oil light on at idle, I have a oil pressure gauge , need some help!

Hi! okay so ive been searhcing for the past few hours on tons of similar topics , however every topic i found the person didnt have an oil pressure gauge installed , I do so i wanted to ask and see what i can narrow it down to before I take it to a shop.

I have an oil press gauge installed at the head, at idle it reads 0 , as I step on the gas ( i also drove it around the block and back to the house ) it mantained pressure , but as soon as its idle it goes back to 0 .

I opened the hood and I noticed one of the cables that goes to the pressure gauge was missing the cap , so it was barely hanging on... but still making contact, so now i dont even know if those readings were correct.

Assuming the contact the wire was making to the gauge was good enough to give accurate signal , and the oil pressure was indeed dropped at idle which would make the oil light come on , would it still be a faulty sending unit ?
Lav is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-19-2012, 07:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
greenneonsrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Member Number: 82185
Location: Bowmanville, On
Posts: 1,036
Default

wow so your gauge reads 0 and your pressure light is on?

is your engine noisy?
__________________
280whp 303wtq 16g bws, injen short ram, meth injection.

Stock intercooler, manifolds, o2 housing, wastegate, and motor.

Best et: 13.4
Best trap: 107
greenneonsrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 07:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Member Number: 85452
Location: Cape Coral FL
Posts: 690
Default

I wonder if your sending unit is bad, and I have heard doing the oil gauge from the head will give you false readings.
SRT4FL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 07:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lav
SRTforums Member
 
Lav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Member Number: 79804
Location: Houston
Posts: 299
Default

That's the thing the engine sounds normal like it usually does , I have enough oil in it , no weird knocking or anything of the sort .


All of the 50+ topics ive seen point to the oil sending unit, but they also said to test the pressure first , which i have the ability to do , but now im conflicted as to wether that info is accurate in my gauge since its missing one of the caps needed to keep contact ( i had to hold it in place manually ) .
Lav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 07:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Premium Member (Lifetime)
SRT of the Month
 
underSRTarmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Member Number: 32888
Location: N. La/ E. Tx
Posts: 9,177
Lifetime Premium Member
Default

Mine is in the head and reads pretty good.
__________________
TUNED By MindMelt101
MyBuild Thread
10.99 @132.23 1.70 60ft 27 psi
Need Fuel setup ideas click here
Props go out to:
Mindmelt101, Tuner Geeks, Act, Wikyd Performance, Pwerks
underSRTarmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 07:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
greenneonsrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Member Number: 82185
Location: Bowmanville, On
Posts: 1,036
Default

there's a restrictor in the head so it won't read the same pressure as the bottom end, but it's still a good reference since it's the last part of the engine to get oil so if you have pressure there everything else is good.

I would at the very least thread out the sensor and check it with a mechanical gauge
__________________
280whp 303wtq 16g bws, injen short ram, meth injection.

Stock intercooler, manifolds, o2 housing, wastegate, and motor.

Best et: 13.4
Best trap: 107
greenneonsrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 01:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lav
SRTforums Member
 
Lav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Member Number: 79804
Location: Houston
Posts: 299
Default

Well im going to replace the sending unit today and ill let you guys know if that fixes it .
Lav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 02:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
UbIlln's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member Number: 35070
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 135
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by underSRTarmor View Post
Mine is in the head and reads pretty good.

curiously what does it read there?
__________________
2003 SRT-4 - all stock
UbIlln is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 03:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Member Number: 85452
Location: Cape Coral FL
Posts: 690
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by greenneonsrt View Post
there's a restrictor in the head so it won't read the same pressure as the bottom end, but it's still a good reference since it's the last part of the engine to get oil so if you have pressure there everything else is good.

I would at the very least thread out the sensor and check it with a mechanical gauge

That's a good point, I have had all my oil gauges sent from the bottom end because vise versa, if there is no pressure at the bottom there will be none at the top end. And it's less effort to push the oil from the bottom through the line to the gauge, kind of like a reaction time, but that's my logic lol.
SRT4FL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 01:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lav
SRTforums Member
 
Lav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Member Number: 79804
Location: Houston
Posts: 299
Default

Well , I replaced the oil pressure sending unit , and the valve cover gasket . Took it for a run and it seemed fine. Oil pressure was fine at idle , drove around for a few minutes and then as soon as i came to a stop the pressure light came back on.

Seems to only come on at idle , or anything below 1.5k rpm


any ideas?
Lav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 02:52 PM   #11 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
greenneonsrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Member Number: 82185
Location: Bowmanville, On
Posts: 1,036
Default

1. check oil pressure with a known good gauge

2. take your oil filter off and cut it open and see what you find
__________________
280whp 303wtq 16g bws, injen short ram, meth injection.

Stock intercooler, manifolds, o2 housing, wastegate, and motor.

Best et: 13.4
Best trap: 107
greenneonsrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 05:57 PM   #12 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
badboydneon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Member Number: 63272
Location: Poconos, PA
Posts: 732
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by underSRTarmor View Post
Mine is in the head and reads pretty good.

Yea same here.


__________________
2004 Black SRT-4-
Mopar Stage 3 with the works
2003 Silver SRT-4-
BW s200sx-rs-56 .63ar
1997 Black 1G, 2.4 built and turboed-project

Any1 local in need of PCM flash...hit me up
badboydneon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 02:28 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lav
SRTforums Member
 
Lav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Member Number: 79804
Location: Houston
Posts: 299
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by greenneonsrt View Post
1. check oil pressure with a known good gauge

2. take your oil filter off and cut it open and see what you find


Do i take out the pressure gauge currently mounted at the head first? does it come out easily? I had it installed by someone else.

and also what am I looking for when i take out the filter and cut it open?
Lav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 03:01 PM   #14 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Member Number: 85452
Location: Cape Coral FL
Posts: 690
Default

Anything abnormal such as metal chunks or things of that nature.
SRT4FL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 04:57 PM   #15 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
greenneonsrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Member Number: 82185
Location: Bowmanville, On
Posts: 1,036
Default

It's not easiest to get to but the factory sensor on the back of the block would be best for getting a reading

use something like this Oil Pressure Tester | AutoZone.com
__________________
280whp 303wtq 16g bws, injen short ram, meth injection.

Stock intercooler, manifolds, o2 housing, wastegate, and motor.

Best et: 13.4
Best trap: 107
greenneonsrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:36 AM.



(C) SRTforums.com

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2