engine sounds like its choking, please help! - Dodge SRT Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-01-2005, 08:02 AM Thread Starter
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
engine sounds like its choking, please help!

So after I drive my car for a little bit, it sounds like its going to stall out at idle. The rpm's go down and the engine sputters until I give it some gas to livin it back up. If I don't give it gas it sounds like its going to stall out after I stop at a red light for a minute or so. I have 3 mods, mopar exhaust, drop in filter and spring mod, thats it. What could be causing this???
tightSRT-4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-01-2005, 09:33 PM
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Wish I had the answer. Mine does it too, and I'm still stock (well, except for 4306s and Mopar hipo wires). Car just doesn't like to wait. Hopefully someone will know what and why. Till then...
SiMiD is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-02-2005, 01:09 AM
SRTforums Member
 
Hi N Mity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: WA
Posts: 7,223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
ENGINE STALLS OR IDLES ROUGH
1. Idle speed too low. pcm controlled
2. Incorrect fuel mixture.
3. Intake manifold leakage. Inspect intake manifold, manifold gasket, and vacuum hoses.
4. Faulty ignition coil(s). Test and replace as necessary.
Hi N Mity is offline  
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-02-2005, 08:56 PM
SRTforums Member
 
Hi N Mity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: WA
Posts: 7,223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
new info that might help: looking at the picture of the TB, it doesnt look the same as ours. It might be a picture of the TB from the 2.0 motor. If our TB's have this same air bypass passage, you might want to check and see if it is getting gunked up or something.

IDLE AIR CONTROL MOTOR
DESCRIPTION
The Idle Air Control (IAC) solenoid is mounted on
the throttle body. The PCM operates the idle air control
solenoid (Fig. 27). It is an electric stepper solenoid.
OPERATION
The PCM adjusts engine idle speed through the
idle air control solenoid to compensate for engine
load, coolant temperature or barometric pressure
changes.
The throttle body has an air bypass passage that
provides air for the engine during closed throttle idle.
The idle air control solenoid pintle protrudes into the
air bypass passage and regulates air flow through it.
The PCM adjusts engine idle speed by moving the
IAC solenoid pintle in and out of the bypass passage.
The adjustments are based on inputs the PCM
receives. The inputs are from the throttle position
sensor, crankshaft position sensor, coolant temperature
sensor, MAP sensor, vehicle speed sensor and
various switch operations (brake, park/neutral, air
conditioning and power steering).
When engine rpm is above idle speed, the IAC is
used for the following functions:
˛ Off-idle dashpot
˛ Deceleration air flow control
˛ A/C compressor load control and power steering
(also opens the passage slightly before the compressor
is engaged so that the engine rpm does not dip
down when the compressor engages)
Target Idle
Target idle is determined by the following inputs:
˛ Gear position
˛ ECT Sensor
˛ Battery voltage
˛ Ambient/Battery Temperature Sensor
˛ VSS
˛ TPS
˛ MAP Sensor
Fig. 27 Idle Air Control Solenoid—Typical
Hi N Mity is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-03-2005, 08:00 PM
SRTforums Member
 
SamIam1272's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: houston
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Try starting your car, then wiggling the wires coming from the throttle position sensor to see if the revs change. These wires can easily become partially broken or dislodged, especially if you've had any aftermarket parts installed under there that could have interfered during instalation. (Beware those who add throttle body), carefull with those wires!! They can cause all kinds of idle/ rev problems.
Let me know if this tip helps any of you.

2004 Black SRT-4 Gone but remembered...Stage 1 @ 18psi, 3" through and through, Pully, Throtlebody, Eibachs, Strut bar, heat shield.. bolt ons etc.

2010 Brilliant Black Charger SRT-8... Journey has begun.

DiabloSport InTune... More coming
SamIam1272 is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-04-2005, 11:25 AM
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Naples FL
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Is the car still under warranty?? If so, Bring it to the dealer and let them fix it for free. IMO, sounds like a vacume leak.
fatlightning is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-05-2005, 12:39 PM
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi All.

Thanks for the help!

The first thing I checked was the TPS wiring, but idle doesn't change when I wiggle them - though I don't wiggle very hard 'cause I don't want to cause a new problem. I will try it again this afternoon and see if there's been a change.

I think its a vacuum leak, but I can't find it. I can't decide if it being intermittent supports that or not...

RE the dealer - giving them the car kills a day, and I'm not too confident that they will be able to figure it out and fix it. If I could tell them specifically what to fix, well, that would be different.

Thanks again!
SiMiD is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-05-2005, 11:44 PM
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
stalling

theres quite a simple solution to this problem, its most likely a sensor, could be your tps sensor who knows, take it to a mechanic and have them do a diagnostics that will tell you everything you need to know



i know....its nice lol
turbo1stgen is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-08-2005, 08:28 PM
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
You know what?

I think you're right.

I'm going to take it to the dealer and let them have a go at it. Who knows, maybe they'll fix it.

I will try to find out what they find/fix, and post it here for anyone else that's having a similar problem.

Thanks.
SiMiD is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-19-2006, 02:18 AM
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
It's been a few weeks, give us an update. My car's idle can get weird at times too and it's been driving me nuts. Sometimes it'll act just fine then other times the car will start to act up. the car just hates waiting.......
bluesrt4vegas is offline  
post #11 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-19-2006, 07:45 AM
SRTforums Member
 
244hpsrt4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: ATLANTA GA
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Mine is doing the same. For instance while sitting and idling for about 5-10 minutes it will bog down then i blip the thottle and it will back fire or even coming off the highway. I recently put in 4305 NGK's gapped at .32 before i had the stock plugs at .50. My idle problem started with the NGK's

I guess I'll regap them to see if it helps but i think it will.

What are your plugs gapped at?

Later

mike
244hpsrt4 is offline  
post #12 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-19-2006, 07:50 AM
SRTforums Member
 
Ghowie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: somewhere
Posts: 3,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 244hpsrt4
Mine is doing the same. For instance while sitting and idling for about 5-10 minutes it will bog down then i blip the thottle and it will back fire or even coming off the highway. I recently put in 4305 NGK's gapped at .32 before i had the stock plugs at .50. My idle problem started with the NGK's

I guess I'll regap them to see if it helps but i think it will.

What are your plugs gapped at?

Later

mike
what are your mods? Sounds like you need to open the gap up to me! if your close to stock I would say open them up to .40 lmk how it works out. why did you go .32?
Ghowie is offline  
post #13 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-19-2006, 08:56 AM
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Flemington, NJ
Posts: 844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
ive heard this problem on the forum a bunch of times. Bad TPS is usually the problem. If you're lucky thats it. No big deal, just get it changed.
jaredcarini is offline  
post #14 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-20-2006, 07:32 AM
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: wilkes-barre pa
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
i had the same problem, it turned out to be my converter, head gasket and spark plugs
moparyellowJacketSrt is offline  
post #15 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-07-2006, 08:55 PM
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
How time flys...

Sorry it took so long to get back. We've been really busy at work - lost a key guy - and I lost track of this. Unfortunately, nothing new to report. Problem is still intermittant, and still there. I simply have not had time to give it to the dealer to check out. When I do, I'll let you know what they say. Till then, if anyone else knows, please share.
SiMiD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome