Dodge SRT Forum banner

Axle issues

19K views 34 replies 9 participants last post by  neonsrt15 
#1 ·
I have an 2003 dodge srt4 and my passenger side axle keeps breaking ive went through 6 axles and it seems like the axle is too short and pulls the halfshaft out of the inner boot closest to the input shaft the boot also dimples in when I put the castle nut on the axle and torque it down I didn't even have the car in gear and rolled it out of my garage and it twisted the boot then the axle broke when I proceeded to put it in first gear and drive around the motor mounts look pretty good the axles ive gotten were from autozone, advance, and the most current one is from o'reillys any help would be great the input shaft will spin freely with axle attached so I don't believe its a bad input shaft im fairly new to the srt 4 scene so don't be to harsh on me. Any help would be greatly appreciated can post pics of my motor mount that looks bad and what the inner boot closest to input shaft looks like when its installed if needed be.

#3 ·
X100 on oem axles. I went thru 8 sets of part store axles, ordered the oem axles from Modernperformance along with a energy bushing master kit & no problem since (been 2 years now). The aftermarket seems to have made all of their axles a tad too short. Every part store axle I installed had major slop & would jiggle, make noise & finally disintegrate in a matter of weeks.
I know the initial price of oem seems high but it's pocket change compared to time spent swaping parts constantly.
I also see ppl having bad luck with dss & gator axles so stick with mopar

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

#5 ·
I just need an axle for right now I'm saving for mopar axles but don't have the cash right now and how could I tell If the motor is sagging or the suspension components are worn which part of the suspension should I check first and here is pics of my motor mount and a pic of what the axle looks like when tightened down

Attachments

#7 ·