Boost Box issue - SRT Forums - SRT4, SRT6, SRT8, SRT10 & Dodge Forum
 
 


Go Back   SRT Forums - SRT4, SRT6, SRT8, SRT10 & Dodge Forum > Supporting Vendor Forums > N2MB Racing

SrtForums.com is the premier Dodge SRT Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2012, 05:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
VaderSRT2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Member Number: 81082
Location: Fresno, Ca
Posts: 1,393
Default Boost Box issue

Ok so I bought this boost box last week and installed it. I have everything wired up and all vacuum lines hooked as per the n2mb instructions. My set up is an AGP .50 trim turbo and tial 38mm waste gate 10 psi spring, tuned on 28 psi. I have no boost leaks and all connections are soldered. My issue is, what ever values I place in the column a and b for boost by gear I get much more boost than that. I was told by Jon at n2mb to unplug the box and I should get my 10psi waste gate pressure. I did that and got a really quick 32 psi cutout open in third gear. I also have the over boost set to 29 which it didn't comply to. No matter how I configure the lines on the number 2 wga solenoid I get the same outcome. No matter how the solenoid is wired same out come. I am using a pretty brand new mopar wga solenoid only a couple of months old. I did put the waste gate directly to the turbo and got my waste gate pressue. Please help me with this issue I am pulling my hair out and about to send this back to them and say I no longer want it as it isn't working for me.
__________________
SRT: AGP .50 trim
Tuned on E85.

Tuned by Mindmelt101
VaderSRT2005 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-19-2012, 06:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
05_ACR_SRT4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Member Number: 61818
Location: 408,831, CA
Posts: 1,742
Default

Do Manuel settings(for high boost per instructions) I think you set gain to 0 and spring pressure to 0? I can't remember at this point.
05_ACR_SRT4 is offline  
Old 10-19-2012, 06:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
VaderSRT2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Member Number: 81082
Location: Fresno, Ca
Posts: 1,393
Default

Yeah I was told to set the learn to 3 and the other two to 0 by n2mb. My issue comes into play when they told me to unplug the box to see if I get waste gate spring pressure. When I do that I get 32 psi and have to let off really quick. So that leads me to think there is a different problem right?
__________________
SRT: AGP .50 trim
Tuned on E85.

Tuned by Mindmelt101
VaderSRT2005 is offline  
Old 10-20-2012, 08:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
VaderSRT2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Member Number: 81082
Location: Fresno, Ca
Posts: 1,393
Default

I can't be the only person that has had this issue
__________________
SRT: AGP .50 trim
Tuned on E85.

Tuned by Mindmelt101
VaderSRT2005 is offline  
Old 10-20-2012, 09:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
emanuelcurly's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Member Number: 79089
Location: Albany
Posts: 476
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by ares559 View Post
I can't be the only person that has had this issue

overboost to 28
spring 0
learning 0
Gain 0

Try that, and set your boost points accordingly to run ur 28psi even though i think the boostbox only lets u run 27 without the 4bar sensors. U shouldnt have to put any gain on it because u are setting it manually. i Had this issue when i first got mine.
__________________
Gtx3076r Tuned by Turbo666
emanuelcurly is offline  
Old 10-20-2012, 06:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
VaderSRT2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Member Number: 81082
Location: Fresno, Ca
Posts: 1,393
Default

My main concern is the fact that I can't get waste gate spring pressure with the box electrically unplugged and just going through the solenoid. It will still hit 32-33 psi unplugged and n2mb told me I should be at my 10 psi waste gate pressure. They also said I should set the learning to 3 and everything else to 0. I ran everything at 0 before and it wouldn't control boost. The over boost didn't work either. Just a tad concerned that I may have a pre-existing problem.
__________________
SRT: AGP .50 trim
Tuned on E85.

Tuned by Mindmelt101
VaderSRT2005 is offline  
Old 10-20-2012, 06:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Premium Member (Lifetime)
SRT of the Month
 
underSRTarmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Member Number: 32888
Location: N. La/ E. Tx
Posts: 9,178
Lifetime Premium Member
Default

Try this.

Run a line straight to wg from turbo see I'd you can get 10 psi if so your solenoid isn't workin right.

If not your wg is messed up. Use bottom line both for boost box and turbo to wg.
__________________
TUNED By MindMelt101
MyBuild Thread
10.99 @132.23 1.70 60ft 27 psi
Need Fuel setup ideas click here
Props go out to:
Mindmelt101, Tuner Geeks, Act, Wikyd Performance, Pwerks
underSRTarmor is offline  
Old 10-20-2012, 06:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
VaderSRT2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Member Number: 81082
Location: Fresno, Ca
Posts: 1,393
Default

Yes I have done that already and got waste gate pressure no problem. But I've tried both solenoids I have and zilch. Oh well, guess now I have to find another flipping solenoid. I can blow through it with no issue through the top and middle ports. But when the vacuum lines are connected even I the box is out of the car it still over boosts. So weird. Driving me absolutely bonkers
__________________
SRT: AGP .50 trim
Tuned on E85.

Tuned by Mindmelt101

Last edited by VaderSRT2005; 10-20-2012 at 07:19 PM.
VaderSRT2005 is offline  
Old 10-21-2012, 02:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
VaderSRT2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Member Number: 81082
Location: Fresno, Ca
Posts: 1,393
Default

Well I fixed the issue. I tested everything on the car and it just wasn't adding up. So I took off the waste gate line to the solenoid and blew through it and there ya go no air at the other end. There was a clog in the line and didn't allow any air to flow through. It's good now working great and I blew a manifold gasket now I have a fat exhaust leak at the head and manifold. At least that's where I think it is
__________________
SRT: AGP .50 trim
Tuned on E85.

Tuned by Mindmelt101
VaderSRT2005 is offline  
Old 10-21-2012, 05:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
emanuelcurly's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Member Number: 79089
Location: Albany
Posts: 476
Default

Well atleast u got it figured out bro. Trouble shooting our Cars can be a pain in the ass! Did u find a new solenoid yet? Now did ur manifold bolts come loose or u think its warped?


AG Free
__________________
Gtx3076r Tuned by Turbo666
emanuelcurly is offline  
Old 10-21-2012, 12:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
VaderSRT2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Member Number: 81082
Location: Fresno, Ca
Posts: 1,393
Default

Looks like one of the bolts came loose that I saw last night. I have the AGP log manifold so I highly doubt that beefy thing is warped. The solenoids I have are fine. I could blow through each of the two wga solenoids I have with it disconnected from power. So I knew it was in the vacuum lines since that is the only thing I changed from the system that was working perfectly.
__________________
SRT: AGP .50 trim
Tuned on E85.

Tuned by Mindmelt101
VaderSRT2005 is offline  
Old 10-21-2012, 01:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
VaderSRT2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Member Number: 81082
Location: Fresno, Ca
Posts: 1,393
Default

Waste gate gasket is leaking
__________________
SRT: AGP .50 trim
Tuned on E85.

Tuned by Mindmelt101
VaderSRT2005 is offline  
Old 10-22-2012, 04:54 AM   #13 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
emanuelcurly's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Member Number: 79089
Location: Albany
Posts: 476
Default

I'm on the same boat here. My bolts to from the dp to turbo rattled loose. Loctite is going to be! The 2nd time it's happened to me


AG Free
__________________
Gtx3076r Tuned by Turbo666
emanuelcurly is offline  
Old 11-19-2012, 08:28 PM   #14 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Member Number: 82349
Location: NY
Posts: 588
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by ares559 View Post
Well I fixed the issue. I tested everything on the car and it just wasn't adding up. So I took off the waste gate line to the solenoid and blew through it and there ya go no air at the other end. There was a clog in the line and didn't allow any air to flow through. It's good now working great and I blew a manifold gasket now I have a fat exhaust leak at the head and manifold. At least that's where I think it is



My car is doing the same thing going to check this out tomorrow!
nsrt4 is online now  
Old 11-20-2012, 10:20 PM   #15 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Member Number: 25854
Location: Philadelphia,PA
Posts: 5,049
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by ares559 View Post
Yeah I was told to set the learn to 3 and the other two to 0 by n2mb. My issue comes into play when they told me to unplug the box to see if I get waste gate spring pressure. When I do that I get 32 psi and have to let off really quick. So that leads me to think there is a different problem right?

Hi,

That's a problem with your vacuum line connections. If you unplug the Boost Box from the harness, you should get only spring pressure. The vacuum lines may be swapped so that you get full boost all the time.

Shoot us an email at sales@n2mb.com for faster response.

Let me know if you have any questions.

Thanks,
Jon
__________________
phrozen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:50 AM.



(C) SRTforums.com

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2