Vacuum Lines...newb - Page 2 - SRT Forums - SRT4, SRT6, SRT8, SRT10 & Dodge Forum
 
 


Go Back   SRT Forums - SRT4, SRT6, SRT8, SRT10 & Dodge Forum > SRT-4 Technical Discussion > Performance Modifications

SrtForums.com is the premier Dodge SRT Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2012, 03:42 PM   #16 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
evobusa7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Member Number: 91450
Location: houston
Posts: 186
Default

ugh...thats not my car or engine bay...just follow my doodle thats how my pcv is ran lol....ignore that catch can and everything else
evobusa7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-05-2012, 03:44 PM   #17 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
steellittledude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Member Number: 75042
Location: Santa Maria, CA
Posts: 275
Default

Haha nice. Is there a nipple above your TB that's capped?


__________________
It's 106 miles to Chicago, we got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, it's dark, and we're wearing sunglasses......Hit it
steellittledude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 03:47 PM   #18 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
evobusa7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Member Number: 91450
Location: houston
Posts: 186
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by steellittledude View Post
Haha nice. Is there a nipple above your TB that's capped?



not sure, car is at a friends house...Good question tho, so if its capped it would be good?
evobusa7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 04:00 PM   #19 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
steellittledude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Member Number: 75042
Location: Santa Maria, CA
Posts: 275
Default

I think It would technically be functional, but I wouldn't say good. The stock setup runs a line straight from the pcv to the TB. Most of us have a catch can in between, and a check valve to keep boost in the intake.

If the TB nipple is not capped, whoever set it up went in blind and just moved shit around.


__________________
It's 106 miles to Chicago, we got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, it's dark, and we're wearing sunglasses......Hit it
steellittledude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 04:02 PM   #20 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member Number: 3797
Location: Tucson
Posts: 5,958
Default

Just hook it up right. PCV to TB. Make sure PCV is good. They are cheap to buy.
__________________
2005 SRT-4, hole in the block, rebuild in progress
2002 Camaro SS M6, It's alive!
2003 SRT-4 Sold!
enginjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 04:05 PM   #21 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
evobusa7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Member Number: 91450
Location: houston
Posts: 186
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by steellittledude View Post
I think It would technically be functional, but I wouldn't say good. The stock setup runs a line straight from the pcv to the TB. Most of us have a catch can in between, and a check valve to keep boost in the intake.

If the TB nipple is not capped, whoever set it up went in blind and just moved shit around.



ill just get a catch can... will a universal one do?
evobusa7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 04:07 PM   #22 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
evobusa7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Member Number: 91450
Location: houston
Posts: 186
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by enginjoe View Post
Just hook it up right. PCV to TB. Make sure PCV is good. They are cheap to buy.

will try that out... just bought the car, would stage 2 affect that
evobusa7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 04:07 PM   #23 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
steellittledude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Member Number: 75042
Location: Santa Maria, CA
Posts: 275
Default

Catch can is a catch can. Check the how-to, I made mine at Home Depot


__________________
It's 106 miles to Chicago, we got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, it's dark, and we're wearing sunglasses......Hit it
steellittledude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 04:08 PM   #24 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
evobusa7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Member Number: 91450
Location: houston
Posts: 186
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by steellittledude View Post
Catch can is a catch can. Check the how-to, I made mine at Home Depot



cool...thanks
evobusa7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 04:11 PM   #25 (permalink)
Fresh Meat Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Member Number: 76568
Location: Chicago
Posts: 16,398
Default

Your car should not be running right with a filter on the PCV hose.

Post up pics so we can try to help you.
tunerlover3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 04:13 PM   #26 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
evobusa7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Member Number: 91450
Location: houston
Posts: 186
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by tunerlover3 View Post
Your car should not be running right with a filter on the PCV hose.

Post up pics so we can try to help you.

ok thanks...once i go to my friends house ill take some pics, im not getting all my boost also..
evobusa7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 05:06 PM   #27 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Member Number: 91385
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 7
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by enginjoe View Post
What I get is that you should leave everything alone since you don't know what you are looking at as well as anything about a turbo car. Moving those lines around doesn't get you performance...but you would know that if you had read anything in the performance modification sticky area...

I'm not saying I'm an idiot when it comes to cars. I've been turning wrenches professionally for over 10 years now. I know a turbo car, but all this talk about re-routing the vacuum lines has me curious. I'm not at all illiterate when it comes to automobiles. What I should have said was that I was new to the performance turbo scene. I've never seen anyone re-route vacuum lines, so my question was simply "why"? That is all.


boost4dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 05:11 PM   #28 (permalink)
Fresh Meat Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Member Number: 76568
Location: Chicago
Posts: 16,398
Default

With certain mods, you have to route vacuum lines certain ways. Thats all.

There not like a reroute mod to get you more power or anything like that.
tunerlover3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 05:31 PM   #29 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member Number: 3797
Location: Tucson
Posts: 5,958
Default

...and nowadays, with a stock turbo or stage 3 Mopar turbo, there is no reason to re-route the lines at all to gain performance. If you go big turbo, then you will have to re-route. There are diagrams for how to re-route based on what modification you are doing. They are all in the performance modification section stickies.
__________________
2005 SRT-4, hole in the block, rebuild in progress
2002 Camaro SS M6, It's alive!
2003 SRT-4 Sold!
enginjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 10:13 AM   #30 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Member Number: 91385
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks for the answers. That's all I needed to know. At first I was like, wait...I'm missing something, but now I know. Thanks a lot!


boost4dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:15 PM.



(C) SRTforums.com

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2