top speed of dsp equiped car - SRT Forums - SRT4, SRT6, SRT8, SRT10 & Dodge Forum
 
 


Go Back   SRT Forums - SRT4, SRT6, SRT8, SRT10 & Dodge Forum > SRT-4 Technical Discussion > Performance Modifications

SrtForums.com is the premier Dodge SRT Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2012, 09:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
adecanmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Member Number: 16735
Location: gainesville
Posts: 388
Default top speed of dsp equiped car

Gentlemen

In years past there was the controversy about whether Dodge had a limiter placed on the top speed. Some said yes others said no. I remember someone with a stage 2 years back had trouble going beyond 155. My personal belief is Dodge limited the top speed of a stock car to 148. People who said they were faster then that were looking at a speedometer that was reading incorrectly.
Since we now have DSPs; and we can turn off the speed limitation. Has anyone taken their SRT4 for a high speed run, assuming safe conditions to see what she'll do? I'm guessing 158?


Adrien
adecanmin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-23-2012, 10:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
strokedracer05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Member Number: 77818
Location: Belpre Ohio
Posts: 4,892
Default

Its a neon i doubt anyone cares to see what it will do and if they do they do it under careless conditions.
strokedracer05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 10:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Member Number: 45308
Location: dartmouth
Posts: 1,635
Default

When i had my first srt4 years ago on stock ecu i belive mine stopped right around 158.. but i wont try that ever again..especially in a neon.
__________________
Realtune built motor with some other goodies..

125,000+ mile club.
Dark_sado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 10:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
strokedracer05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Member Number: 77818
Location: Belpre Ohio
Posts: 4,892
Default

My buddy in the mile went 147 in 36seconds he was on 91 octane
strokedracer05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 10:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
dereku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Member Number: 66999
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,547
Default

155mph converts to about 250KMPH. I've had my car doing 270KMPH before.
__________________
AGP DBB 50T .63A/R, Race IC, returnline FM E2 Block, Built head, BC S2 cams, Thermal Exhaust, CMGS, FIC 900, Walbro 255, N2MB Boxes, ACT 6 puck, HKS SSQV
DSP tuned by Turbo666 382WHP on the heartbreaker
Build Thread
dereku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 10:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Sota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Member Number: 31159
Location: Union County NJ
Posts: 11,404
Default

it's entirely a matter of power vs. aero drag. the general consensus is that a bone stock Neon SRT-4 will just flat out run out of power before you get much above 140. is it possible to go faster? sure. altitude, humidity, air density, air temperature, prevailing winds, etc. will all play a factor. a Modified Neon SRT-4 can go faster but note that even with significantly more power it doesn't go SIGNIFICANTLY faster. speed and drag are related by a cubic function, with the speed being on the wrong side of that equation. couple that with the fact 5th gear with the engine turning over at 6500rpm limits the top speed to about 165mph iirc. one of the few people who can (and has!) gone faster is Doug Wind/1LapSRT, and that's because his engine is built to turn over 7000rpm.

I forget the exact numbers but the Bugatti Veyron needs something like only 200hp to reach 200kph (125mph), but to go above 400kph (250mph) it needs an additional 800hp and a shitload of aerodynamic trickery.
__________________
LIFETIME NRA MEMBER
Soon to be a Felon in NJ.
"This is NJ. The pursuit of happiness is prohibited."
Sota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 10:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
dereku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Member Number: 66999
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,547
Default

Right, I should add I was also going downhill, lol.
__________________
AGP DBB 50T .63A/R, Race IC, returnline FM E2 Block, Built head, BC S2 cams, Thermal Exhaust, CMGS, FIC 900, Walbro 255, N2MB Boxes, ACT 6 puck, HKS SSQV
DSP tuned by Turbo666 382WHP on the heartbreaker
Build Thread
dereku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 03:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Fresh Meat Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Member Number: 76568
Location: Chicago
Posts: 16,629
Default

Ill see what the top speed is on the DSP tune (not driving, Ill actually look at the tune) I cant remember but Im pretty sure its left alone.
tunerlover3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 03:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
SRT4night's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Member Number: 85390
Location: Hillsboro, Ore
Posts: 309
Default

Max I have run was 6450rpm in 5th.. speedo was way over the 160.. so if somone knows what that translates to? tires are 225/45 17.
6000rpm was 160 according to the speedo.
Oh and yes this was a closed course.... not on a public road.
SRT4night is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 04:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
adecanmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Member Number: 16735
Location: gainesville
Posts: 388
Default

What are your mods?


Adrien
adecanmin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 04:26 PM   #11 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
SRT4night's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Member Number: 85390
Location: Hillsboro, Ore
Posts: 309
Default

On those runs 110 oct running 26lbs which is 453 whp on dyno in 4th gear.

Mods.. a crap load.. stg3 turbo with 47lb wheel, ported head Bc stg 2 cams, crank strap kit bfmic, 750cc inj, 255lph fuel pump.. tuned by PSI.. blabla.. also lowered, rear MPX diffuser, 3" turbo back... ported intake. 62mm TB, full 2.5" harpipes, 3 bar map/tip bla bla...
SRT4night is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 04:47 PM   #12 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
dodgenconverse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Member Number: 85038
Location: irvine
Posts: 90
Default

160 with drop in filter and 93 tune. 155-160 seemed to take forever and I had it on gps
__________________
2005 SRT-4 stage 3 ef2
2004 Ram 1500 426 stroker, stage 2 cam, 100 shot (sold)
2010 HD Iron, Big bore kit, rigid struts, SE exhaust, SE intake (sold)
dodgenconverse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 05:23 PM   #13 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
strokedracer05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Member Number: 77818
Location: Belpre Ohio
Posts: 4,892
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by SRT4night View Post
On those runs 110 oct running 26lbs which is 453 whp on dyno in 4th gear.

Mods.. a crap load.. stg3 turbo with 47lb wheel, ported head Bc stg 2 cams, crank strap kit bfmic, 750cc inj, 255lph fuel pump.. tuned by PSI.. blabla.. also lowered, rear MPX diffuser, 3" turbo back... ported intake. 62mm TB, full 2.5" harpipes, 3 bar map/tip bla bla...

any porting on the turbo or was it externally gated???? and what was your torque and timing? sorry to thread jack
strokedracer05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 05:28 PM   #14 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
SRT4night's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Member Number: 85390
Location: Hillsboro, Ore
Posts: 309
Default

Ported turbo and manifold.. pretty much everything that can be done to the stg 3 turbo has been done to it... was on the car when I bought it. I am working towards a BW S256 or S259 upgrade.

Actual numbers were--26psi 453whp and 495wtq<-- on 110

Pump gas/92 is 23psi 418whp and 423wtq. and @ 15 psi 352whp and 366wtq. low and high boost.. it is not on ecu controll as its not full stg3 car, has turbo and all else when done seperately.. no stage kit all aftermarket non mopar parts.

For the life of me I can not rem what the timing was. Was on dyno late last summer.

Last edited by SRT4night; 02-23-2012 at 05:33 PM.
SRT4night is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 05:32 PM   #15 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
strokedracer05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Member Number: 77818
Location: Belpre Ohio
Posts: 4,892
Default

so you have no idea on torque or timing or boost pressures???and was it externally gated?
strokedracer05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:51 AM.



(C) SRTforums.com

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2