Stock turbo issue??? - Dodge SRT Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-25-2013, 10:31 AM Thread Starter
SRTforums Member
 
Yaboy12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Stock turbo issue???

Well I never noticed till the other day but when I give it gas I have a mixture over black shit and fuel coming out my exhaust... I was told its oil getting into my turbo an shooting out my exhaust I'm not knowledgeable when it comes to this part so ima need some help do I need to replace turbo??piston rings?? Or wat I jus don't know??.. Need some advice an possibly a path to maybe fixing this if is possible to fix.
Yaboy12 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-25-2013, 11:36 AM
SRTforums Member
 
MY RIIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San Marcos, CA
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaboy12 View Post
Well I never noticed till the other day but when I give it gas I have a mixture over black shit and fuel coming out my exhaust... I was told its oil getting into my turbo an shooting out my exhaust I'm not knowledgeable when it comes to this part so ima need some help do I need to replace turbo??piston rings?? Or wat I jus don't know??.. Need some advice an possibly a path to maybe fixing this if is possible to fix.
I have asked the same question dude! People are telling me that you need to get a new turbo!
MY RIIDE is offline  
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-25-2013, 12:52 PM Thread Starter
SRTforums Member
 
Yaboy12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Stock turbo issue???

Dam!.. Song that's wat I was afraid of.. But would replacing the turbo cure it all??.. Or have to replace anything else?


Sent from
Yaboy12 is offline  
post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-25-2013, 01:04 PM
SRTforums Member
 
MY RIIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San Marcos, CA
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My stock turbo is still good, but I bought another one just in case its used and it only has 24,000 miles on it! Great condition! All I can say is go into your DODGE dealer and ask what needs to be done. Sounds like your turbo is on its way out or is out. Turbo kits are not cheap so just look around and get a good price for one.
MY RIIDE is offline  
post #5 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-25-2013, 01:05 PM
SRTforums Member
 
D-ROK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: LIVERMORE, CA
Posts: 3,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Your prob running pig rich. What are your mods? Any work done to the car recently?

Oil burns blue smoke.

D-ROK is offline  
post #6 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-25-2013, 01:06 PM
SRTforums Member
 
D-ROK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: LIVERMORE, CA
Posts: 3,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
The LAST place you want to go to is the dealer. Your turbo is prob fine.

Have you checked your pcv.

D-ROK is offline  
post #7 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-25-2013, 01:14 PM
SRTforums Member
 
MY RIIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San Marcos, CA
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-ROK View Post
The LAST place you want to go to is the dealer. Your turbo is prob fine.

Have you checked your pcv.
Are you spooling?
MY RIIDE is offline  
post #8 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-25-2013, 01:18 PM
SRTforums Member
 
MY RIIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San Marcos, CA
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
The dealer is good for somethings but just look for deals. I went to a private party when I picked up my turbo. Only go to the dealer if things don't get better.
MY RIIDE is offline  
post #9 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-25-2013, 01:21 PM Thread Starter
SRTforums Member
 
Yaboy12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Stock turbo issue???

Well I'm running rich for sure.. I don't have any mods besides a CAI and msd coil and wires (if u wanna call them mods) but I jus changed spark plugs that's all but the black stuff has been shooting out before I did anything.. Turbo spools fine to me although when in 4th an 5th gear when I get on it my rpms shoot up like I've got the clutch in an all I'm doin is punchin the gas


Sent from
Yaboy12 is offline  
post #10 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-25-2013, 01:28 PM
SRTforums Member
 
fmgar91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Escondido
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Re: Stock turbo issue???

Sounds like u might need a new clutch

HTC Sensation 4G using AutoGuide.C
fmgar91 is offline  
post #11 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-25-2013, 01:40 PM
SRTforums Member
 
CarolinaBlueSRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Clemson, SC
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
check and feel the inside of your turbo for any movement

04 Eblue SRT-4: full bolt on's, dsp tuned, ported stocker
CarolinaBlueSRT is offline  
post #12 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-25-2013, 01:45 PM
SRTforums Member
 
MY RIIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San Marcos, CA
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaboy12 View Post
Well I'm running rich for sure.. I don't have any mods besides a CAI and msd coil and wires (if u wanna call them mods) but I jus changed spark plugs that's all but the black stuff has been shooting out before I did anything.. Turbo spools fine to me although when in 4th an 5th gear when I get on it my rpms shoot up like I've got the clutch in an all I'm doin is punchin the gas


Sent from
Is it hard to shift?

AEM Cold Air Intake, Oil Catch Can, AGP Wastegate, Mopar BOV, Stock Turbo, Stock Intercooler, 3" MPx o2 Housing, 3" NeedsWings Cat-less Cutout Downpipe, Stock Cat-back Exhaust.
MY RIIDE is offline  
post #13 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-25-2013, 01:49 PM
SRTforums Member
 
MY RIIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San Marcos, CA
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmgar91 View Post
Sounds like u might need a new clutch

HTC Sensation 4G using AutoGuide.C
You live in Esco. What color SRT-4 do you drive!

AEM Cold Air Intake, Oil Catch Can, AGP Wastegate, Mopar BOV, Stock Turbo, Stock Intercooler, 3" MPx o2 Housing, 3" NeedsWings Cat-less Cutout Downpipe, Stock Cat-back Exhaust.
MY RIIDE is offline  
post #14 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-25-2013, 02:05 PM Thread Starter
SRTforums Member
 
Yaboy12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Stock turbo issue???

Ok I'll check for it but no I live in Fort Worth (Saginaw) area and mine is black and painted black stock wheels.. I was thinkin tho would the clutch do that to me cuz it shifts jus fine... Although I do have a rattle when I idle comin from my clutch so I do believe I'm in need of a new one.. I work at NTB so dealer items and auto parts are generally cheap at our cost.. Unless I go aftermarket.. So I have a shop tools an mechanics to help if need be. Jus gotta know wat I need to do honestly


Sent from
Yaboy12 is offline  
post #15 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-25-2013, 02:12 PM
SRTforums Member
 
MY RIIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San Marcos, CA
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaboy12 View Post
Ok I'll check for it but no I live in Fort Worth (Saginaw) area and mine is black and painted black stock wheels.. I was thinkin tho would the clutch do that to me cuz it shifts jus fine... Although I do have a rattle when I idle comin from my clutch so I do believe I'm in need of a new one.. I work at NTB so dealer items and auto parts are generally cheap at our cost.. Unless I go aftermarket.. So I have a shop tools an mechanics to help if need be. Jus gotta know wat I need to do honestly


Sent from
Sorry dude I was texting fmgar91 Yeah take your turbo in and have someone check it out unless you can do it yourself.

AEM Cold Air Intake, Oil Catch Can, AGP Wastegate, Mopar BOV, Stock Turbo, Stock Intercooler, 3" MPx o2 Housing, 3" NeedsWings Cat-less Cutout Downpipe, Stock Cat-back Exhaust.
MY RIIDE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome