Shifter issue - SRT Forums - SRT4, SRT6, SRT8, SRT10 & Dodge Forum
 
 


Go Back   SRT Forums - SRT4, SRT6, SRT8, SRT10 & Dodge Forum > SRT-4 Technical Discussion > Performance Modifications

SrtForums.com is the premier Dodge SRT Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2013, 05:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Premium Member (Lifetime)
 
SRT-Diesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Member Number: 75019
Location: Princeton, TX
Posts: 1,177
Lifetime Premium Member
Default Shifter issue

So got a DCR tubular manifold, been the biggest pita I might add.
Installed it and went to put the cables back on, but it wouldn't go into gear. So I bought new cables, a new hurst shifter, and it didn't change anything. I've tried the crossover adjustment and everything else.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m3i8K3Zbyws
Any ideas?


SRT-Diesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-13-2013, 05:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Fresh Meat Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Member Number: 76568
Location: Chicago
Posts: 16,629
Default

Well it looks like your turbo is hitting the cables.

Call Darrell and see what he says. You may have to try and make a bracket to get the cables to shift over a little.
tunerlover3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 05:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Premium Member (Lifetime)
 
SRT-Diesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Member Number: 75019
Location: Princeton, TX
Posts: 1,177
Lifetime Premium Member
Default

Other people didn't have issues. Darrell didn't have any solutions. The only thing I can think of is I somehow bent something on that top plate on the tranny. But I have all billet selectors.


SRT-Diesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 05:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Fresh Meat Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Member Number: 76568
Location: Chicago
Posts: 16,629
Default

yeah I would say that would be smart as a next move. Pull the top plate and inspect.
tunerlover3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 10:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
matman2492's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Member Number: 91147
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 57
Default

it sounds like u might have pinched the cables in something, i did that when i put a new tranny in, caught the cable in the tranny case and was not happy when i had to nearly pull it to unlodge them.
matman2492 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 10:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
SRT of the Month
 
BluFlame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Member Number: 8399
Location: Texas City,TX
Posts: 3,020
Default

You need two people. First, remove the cables and move your gear selectors on the top plate by hand. If nothing was wrong with your transmission before the install nothing should be wrong with it now. If all is fine re-install the cables and have someone work the shifter while you look for anything odd going on with the cables. I'm betting one of the cables popped out of it's socket and is not fully extending to shift into gears. It's hard to explain but you will see what I'm talking about if that is the issue.
__________________
ZHP Built & Enhanced - D3 Performance Engineering Tuned - FWD Performance Supported - Modern Performance Supported - Texas Forums Supported
Leave em' Blowin' N Da Breeze'
10.32@135
More to come...
BluFlame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 06:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Premium Member (Lifetime)
 
SRT-Diesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Member Number: 75019
Location: Princeton, TX
Posts: 1,177
Lifetime Premium Member
Default

They're brand new cables and new shifter. I did pry on the old cables when installing the manifold so thought I stretched them out but obviously not.


SRT-Diesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 04:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Supporting Vendor
 
Maddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Member Number: 5932
Location: SE WI
Posts: 1,289
Lifetime Premium Member
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by SRT-Diesel View Post
They're brand new cables and new shifter. I did pry on the old cables when installing the manifold so thought I stretched them out but obviously not.



Possible you pinched the cables inside their sheathing.

Also, do you have the shifter stops backed all the way out? If they're in too far, you won't be able to move the shifter far enough to engage the gears.
__________________

Maddog STS
Complete Short Throw Shifters sold here! 0% to 72% overall throw reduction! Custom work available!
PM or email Chuck@maddogsts.com for more information.
'05 Stone White - a few mods... FOR SALE - PM for details
Maddog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 07:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Premium Member (Lifetime)
 
SRT-Diesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Member Number: 75019
Location: Princeton, TX
Posts: 1,177
Lifetime Premium Member
Default

Seems as though it was just the angle of the cables. Took one bolt off the top of the cable bracket on the tranny, turned it, and viola. No issues now, tightened the hell out of the one bolt so it seems as though I'm good to go.


SRT-Diesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:15 AM.



(C) SRTforums.com

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2