Shifter issue - Dodge SRT Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-13-2013, 06:15 PM Thread Starter
Premium Member (Lifetime)
 
SRT-Diesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Princeton, TX
Posts: 1,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member
Shifter issue

So got a DCR tubular manifold, been the biggest pita I might add.
Installed it and went to put the cables back on, but it wouldn't go into gear. So I bought new cables, a new hurst shifter, and it didn't change anything. I've tried the crossover adjustment and everything else.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m3i8K3Zbyws
Any ideas?


SRT-Diesel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-13-2013, 06:23 PM
Fresh Meat Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 16,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Well it looks like your turbo is hitting the cables.

Call Darrell and see what he says. You may have to try and make a bracket to get the cables to shift over a little.
tunerlover3 is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-13-2013, 06:29 PM Thread Starter
Premium Member (Lifetime)
 
SRT-Diesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Princeton, TX
Posts: 1,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member
Other people didn't have issues. Darrell didn't have any solutions. The only thing I can think of is I somehow bent something on that top plate on the tranny. But I have all billet selectors.


SRT-Diesel is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-13-2013, 06:42 PM
Fresh Meat Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 16,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
yeah I would say that would be smart as a next move. Pull the top plate and inspect.
tunerlover3 is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-14-2013, 11:12 AM
SRTforums Member
 
matman2492's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
it sounds like u might have pinched the cables in something, i did that when i put a new tranny in, caught the cable in the tranny case and was not happy when i had to nearly pull it to unlodge them.
matman2492 is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-14-2013, 11:50 AM
SRTforums Member
SRT of the Month
 
BluFlame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Texas City,TX
Posts: 3,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
You need two people. First, remove the cables and move your gear selectors on the top plate by hand. If nothing was wrong with your transmission before the install nothing should be wrong with it now. If all is fine re-install the cables and have someone work the shifter while you look for anything odd going on with the cables. I'm betting one of the cables popped out of it's socket and is not fully extending to shift into gears. It's hard to explain but you will see what I'm talking about if that is the issue.

ZHP Built & Enhanced - D3 Performance Engineering Tuned - FWD Performance Supported - Modern Performance Supported - Texas Forums Supported
Leave em' Blowin' N Da Breeze'
10.32@135
More to come...
BluFlame is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-14-2013, 07:56 PM Thread Starter
Premium Member (Lifetime)
 
SRT-Diesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Princeton, TX
Posts: 1,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member
They're brand new cables and new shifter. I did pry on the old cables when installing the manifold so thought I stretched them out but obviously not.


SRT-Diesel is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-15-2013, 05:42 PM
Supporting Vendor
 
Maddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: SE WI
Posts: 1,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRT-Diesel View Post
They're brand new cables and new shifter. I did pry on the old cables when installing the manifold so thought I stretched them out but obviously not.


Possible you pinched the cables inside their sheathing.

Also, do you have the shifter stops backed all the way out? If they're in too far, you won't be able to move the shifter far enough to engage the gears.


Maddog STS
Complete Short Throw Shifters sold here! 0% to 72% overall throw reduction! Custom work available!
PM or email Chuck@maddogsts.com for more information.
'05 Stone White - a few mods... sold
Maddog is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-15-2013, 08:21 PM Thread Starter
Premium Member (Lifetime)
 
SRT-Diesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Princeton, TX
Posts: 1,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Lifetime Premium Member
Seems as though it was just the angle of the cables. Took one bolt off the top of the cable bracket on the tranny, turned it, and viola. No issues now, tightened the hell out of the one bolt so it seems as though I'm good to go.


SRT-Diesel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome