Sdk motor mounts - SRT Forums - SRT4, SRT6, SRT8, SRT10 & Dodge Forum
 
 


Go Back   SRT Forums - SRT4, SRT6, SRT8, SRT10 & Dodge Forum > SRT-4 Technical Discussion > Performance Modifications

SrtForums.com is the premier Dodge SRT Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2012, 08:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
boost4breakfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Member Number: 90137
Location: chicago il
Posts: 80
Default Sdk motor mounts

So I tried installing the upper mount, and after 2 hrs of struggling it seems like the upper mount is to long. Would it be possible that I need to loosen the lower mount to get the upper mount to line up with the bracket coming off the motor? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, thanks Josh.
__________________
Dsp, Aem wideband, 3in dp, agp hard pipe, hks bov, scan gauge, booger bushings, b woody cc, injen cai, wally 255
boost4breakfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-19-2012, 09:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Premium Member
 
_Nick_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Member Number: 8941
Location: Camarillo, CA
Posts: 7,124
Premium Member
Default

I have the AGP mount, and I assume these are the same. Mine also appears to be about 1/10 of an inch off. I gorillas it in there. Not what I recommend.

Yes I tried flipping the silver colored mounting piece around.

OP, how far is it off?
__________________
20G Stage 3 on E85: New data:384 hp 411 tq

"Maybe I should just stick to bolt-ons." -Hitler

I don't really want to wrench anymore. I'd rather detail.
_Nick_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
silver_ek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Member Number: 60962
Location: texas
Posts: 2,085
Default

take off the lower mount as well and habe the motor supported with a jack and a piece of wood then it should line up perfectly.... i tried putting my agp mounts like that also and top wouldnt line up for shit... had to remove bottom to line up.
__________________
"Duster360 knows his $hit"
silver_ek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
boost4breakfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Member Number: 90137
Location: chicago il
Posts: 80
Default

Mines like a 1/4 inch off, makes sence now, so remove the bottom mount, support the engine with a jack and a piece of wood, this should allow me to move the engine just enough to get the top mount bolt in? Will the bottom go in smooth or will it be off just like the top one?
__________________
Dsp, Aem wideband, 3in dp, agp hard pipe, hks bov, scan gauge, booger bushings, b woody cc, injen cai, wally 255
boost4breakfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
boost4breakfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Member Number: 90137
Location: chicago il
Posts: 80
Default

I tried to force it on there was no way, that's when the cuss words and tools started to fly lol I thought there was no way it should be this hard
__________________
Dsp, Aem wideband, 3in dp, agp hard pipe, hks bov, scan gauge, booger bushings, b woody cc, injen cai, wally 255
boost4breakfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
HTG
SRTforums Member
 
HTG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Member Number: 88759
Location: Winston-Salem
Posts: 500
Default

so how did you get them on finally? im getting mine soon and want to avoid a headache. cause when shit doesnt go my way, things in my garage get broken. haha so how do they go in smoothly?
__________________
PTE 5431 on 26 psi tuned by Eric Raymond at Integrated Auto!
387/381 on pump
HTG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
boost4breakfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Member Number: 90137
Location: chicago il
Posts: 80
Default

I havent got them on yet, I'm going to try again tonight, I'm at work. But technically the top one should swap easy the bottom one is the one you need to jack up the motor to get it to line up. But in my case I'm assuming my stock top mount was worn out which allowed the engine to relax a bit, so now I need to take off the bottom mount and use a jack and wood to get the top one to fit
__________________
Dsp, Aem wideband, 3in dp, agp hard pipe, hks bov, scan gauge, booger bushings, b woody cc, injen cai, wally 255
boost4breakfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 03:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
boost4breakfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Member Number: 90137
Location: chicago il
Posts: 80
Default

well i got both upper and lower mounts on, i had to remove the bottom mount and support the engine with a jack and pull the engine forward to get the upper mount bolt in, the bottom mount went in like butter, after getting them both done, went for a cruise and i hear a whining noise, is this normal? almost sounds like a little s/c
__________________
Dsp, Aem wideband, 3in dp, agp hard pipe, hks bov, scan gauge, booger bushings, b woody cc, injen cai, wally 255
boost4breakfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 04:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
User Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Member Number: 35677
Location: California
Posts: 1,844
Default Post up some pix

Quote: Originally Posted by boost4breakfast View Post
well i got both upper and lower mounts on, i had to remove the bottom mount and support the engine with a jack and pull the engine forward to get the upper mount bolt in, the bottom mount went in like butter, after getting them both done, went for a cruise and i hear a whining noise, is this normal? almost sounds like a little s/c

A whining noise? You should feel and notice a little minor vibration but a whining noise that was not present before is now audible?

A few pix would be nice.
ValleyRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 04:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
boost4breakfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Member Number: 90137
Location: chicago il
Posts: 80
Default

yes i do hear/feel more vibrations, but i also hear a slight whining noise, ac is off, radio is off
__________________
Dsp, Aem wideband, 3in dp, agp hard pipe, hks bov, scan gauge, booger bushings, b woody cc, injen cai, wally 255
boost4breakfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 05:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
greenneonsrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Member Number: 82185
Location: Bowmanville, On
Posts: 1,033
Default

I've never had a problem with the mounts, I just use a pry bar between the frame and metal bracket that covers the timing tensioner to move the engine until it lines up

As for the whining noise some timing belts make a little bit of a whine, as long as it isn't ridiculously loud it's nothing to worry about. You hear it with the solid mounts because all of the engine noise resonates through the frame now.
__________________
280whp 303wtq 16g bws, injen short ram, meth injection.

Stock intercooler, manifolds, o2 housing, wastegate, and motor.

Best et: 13.4
Best trap: 107
greenneonsrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 05:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
boost4breakfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Member Number: 90137
Location: chicago il
Posts: 80
Default

so you think a little bit of a whine is normal its very hard to hear but i can hear it now and it was not there before
__________________
Dsp, Aem wideband, 3in dp, agp hard pipe, hks bov, scan gauge, booger bushings, b woody cc, injen cai, wally 255
boost4breakfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 05:44 PM   #13 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
greenneonsrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Member Number: 82185
Location: Bowmanville, On
Posts: 1,033
Default

yeah its a very faint whine you can hear if all the windows and closed and radio off etc right?

Nothing to worry about
__________________
280whp 303wtq 16g bws, injen short ram, meth injection.

Stock intercooler, manifolds, o2 housing, wastegate, and motor.

Best et: 13.4
Best trap: 107
greenneonsrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 05:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
boost4breakfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Member Number: 90137
Location: chicago il
Posts: 80
Default

yup radio off everythings off it fluctuates with rpms, windows up once exhaust gets loud i cant hear just when im barley taking off in first i can hear a slight whine
__________________
Dsp, Aem wideband, 3in dp, agp hard pipe, hks bov, scan gauge, booger bushings, b woody cc, injen cai, wally 255
boost4breakfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 05:48 PM   #15 (permalink)
User Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Member Number: 35677
Location: California
Posts: 1,844
Default transmitting vibration

it's true you feel vibrations with the newer solid/harder motor mounts, but a whining noise? How old is your timing belt?

If the noise is now audible due to the mounts, if the noise gets worse or strange, better determine where the noise is coming from.
ValleyRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:29 PM.



(C) SRTforums.com

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2