Oil pressure sensor harness wire location HELP - Dodge SRT Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By System_Crash
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-20-2013, 04:09 PM Thread Starter
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: El Paso,tx
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Oil pressure sensor harness wire location HELP

ok so i bought my SRT-4 about a week ago and the check engine light was on, the p0522 which is the oil pressure sensor but the dealer agreed in buying a new sensor for me to replace it. they give me the sensor and i get to work on trying to find the damn sensor, after an hour of removing parts and finally locating the sensor i find the the harness has the wire just dangling.

this is where the sensor is located



the sensor is #3 in the picture.(in case you didnt notice)

my question is, where is the other end at? should i look for it on the ECU, or can i just buy the harness online? i dont need a pressure gauge i just want my oil and check engine lights to go away.
DaMaster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-20-2013, 05:01 PM
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Broadripple, IN
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
The other end? I'm confused, which end are you looking for? Best way to get to those buggers is from the bottum, right behind the sub-frame. Is the connector piece still attached to the wiring harness?
Noddle05srt is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-20-2013, 05:09 PM Thread Starter
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: El Paso,tx
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
the end that you are looking at in the picture is the one that connects to the Oil Pressure sensor, i want to know where the wire connects to since the previous owner must have severed it.

sorry for the horrible explanation
DaMaster is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-20-2013, 05:14 PM
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Broadripple, IN
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
It should be running off the same line that goes back to your Bank 2 O2 sensor. It should also have another sensor plug in coming off the same line. Best beat would be to un-plug your 02, and pull that line to the front of the motor. You should be able to trace were the cut lines are.
Noddle05srt is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-20-2013, 05:18 PM Thread Starter
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: El Paso,tx
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
i dont suppose you have any pictures huh? well i have to go in to work so ill get back on tomorrow and check and what you suggested. really appreciate the help and ill keep you updated tomorrow. cheers.
DaMaster is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-21-2013, 04:05 PM Thread Starter
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: El Paso,tx
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
ok im back ... i was unsuccessful locating the other side of the harness but ill try again tomorrow this is where the 02 sensor leads up to
i know there are two sensors in the exhaust, one before the Cat and another one after. this is the one before the cat

i did find another wire but this turned out to be for the ABS, which the light is also on... i guess the old owner just liked cutting things -_-


this is where it connects to


now i have two ripped up harnesses

and this is my dashboard all light up
DaMaster is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-22-2013, 04:33 PM
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Broadripple, IN
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Ok.... Well first off it's good you found out your ABS light issue, but you're looking at the wrong side of the engine for the oil pressure sensor. The side you were looking at is the front of the motor, where the cam gears, alternator, timing belt, etc are. You should be looking on the side with the transmission, so you're right hand side when facing the engine bay. Take your battery out, and then get a flash light. The only way again that I have gotten to this sensor is from the under side. Mostly using sense of touch to find them. It will be back there, I promise. It sits right on the block like your picture shows. If you're looking for the wire, it should be in the same general location. It will also \be plugged into another sensor 3 inches from the oil pressure sensor. Good Luck, and LMK on the progress.
Noddle05srt is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-17-2017, 06:43 PM
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kansas City Are
Posts: 5,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noddle05srt View Post
Ok.... Well first off it's good you found out your ABS light issue, but you're looking at the wrong side of the engine for the oil pressure sensor. The side you were looking at is the front of the motor, where the cam gears, alternator, timing belt, etc are. You should be looking on the side with the transmission, so you're right hand side when facing the engine bay. Take your battery out, and then get a flash light. The only way again that I have gotten to this sensor is from the under side. Mostly using sense of touch to find them. It will be back there, I promise. It sits right on the block like your picture shows. If you're looking for the wire, it should be in the same general location. It will also \be plugged into another sensor 3 inches from the oil pressure sensor. Good Luck, and LMK on the progress.
Old thread I know. But my oil pressure light came on and I tried to follow that one wire from it and came to some more wires which led to a bolt in the transmission which was not on all the way. It had a ground strap on it dangling around. What other "sensor" is tied into it? Power steering pressure sensor I take it? I cannot see worth crap in there. Checked the service manual too with no luck with wiring for the oil pressure sensor. Just gives you a generic how-to on how to replace it and its function.

Last edited by s3*ps2; 06-17-2017 at 09:07 PM.
s3*ps2 is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-17-2017, 08:59 PM
SRTforums Member
 
System_Crash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 923
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Circut name is "G6"

http://www.carbide-red.com/service_m...ice_manual.pdf
page 374
Also goes through c101
http://www.carbide-red.com/service_m...ice_manual.pdf
page 774

Last edited by System_Crash; 06-17-2017 at 09:14 PM.
System_Crash is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-17-2017, 09:16 PM
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kansas City Are
Posts: 5,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Nice find but I am not able to read that diagram can you explian to me what it ties into. Thanks. There is only one wire coming from it I take it that is the signal wire but then it shows a ground too...
s3*ps2 is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-17-2017, 09:23 PM
SRTforums Member
 
System_Crash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 923
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
There is only one wire from PCM ~> C101 ~> Oil pressure sensor ~> grounds through the oil pressure sensor to the block.
The loose ground at the bellhousing should be tightened. I think that is the main engine ground.
s3*ps2 likes this.

Last edited by System_Crash; 06-17-2017 at 09:27 PM.
System_Crash is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome