new setup, quick question - SRT Forums - SRT4, SRT6, SRT8, SRT10 & Dodge Forum
 
 


Go Back   SRT Forums - SRT4, SRT6, SRT8, SRT10 & Dodge Forum > SRT-4 Technical Discussion > Performance Modifications

SrtForums.com is the premier Dodge SRT Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2013, 09:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
HTG
SRTforums Member
 
HTG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Member Number: 88759
Location: Winston-Salem
Posts: 500
Default new setup, quick question

finishing up my turbo build, car is off at my tuners place waiting for weather to clear.

tuning with dsp and using a n2mb boost box to control boost. i converted my aem cai into a sri by removing the bottom half. now i dont have a hole for the AAT sensor.

will leaving this sensor out of the intake make ANY difference in performance with the setup i am using? would it be better for the sake of the tune to have it plugged in?

if so, ill see if he can drill a hole and have it inserted.

thanks!
__________________
PTE 5431 on 26 psi tuned by Eric Raymond at Integrated Auto!
387/381 on pump
HTG is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-25-2013, 09:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Premium Member (Lifetime)
SRT of the Month
 
underSRTarmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Member Number: 32888
Location: N. La/ E. Tx
Posts: 9,183
Lifetime Premium Member
Default new setup, quick question

No the Amb temp don't do anything. For performance.

Just let it hang.


Sent from
__________________
TUNED By MindMelt101
MyBuild Thread
10.99 @132.23 1.70 60ft 27 psi
Need Fuel setup ideas click here
Props go out to:
Mindmelt101, Tuner Geeks, Act, Wikyd Performance, Pwerks, Porting Solutions
underSRTarmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 09:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
HTG
SRTforums Member
 
HTG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Member Number: 88759
Location: Winston-Salem
Posts: 500
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by underSRTarmor View Post
No the Amb temp don't do anything. For performance.

Just let it hang.


Sent from


correct me if im wrong, but wouldnt it matter if i was on pcm controlled?
__________________
PTE 5431 on 26 psi tuned by Eric Raymond at Integrated Auto!
387/381 on pump
HTG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 10:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Premium Member (Lifetime)
SRT of the Month
 
underSRTarmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Member Number: 32888
Location: N. La/ E. Tx
Posts: 9,183
Lifetime Premium Member
Default new setup, quick question

Not sure man.

Sorry.


Sent from
__________________
TUNED By MindMelt101
MyBuild Thread
10.99 @132.23 1.70 60ft 27 psi
Need Fuel setup ideas click here
Props go out to:
Mindmelt101, Tuner Geeks, Act, Wikyd Performance, Pwerks, Porting Solutions
underSRTarmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 10:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
HTG
SRTforums Member
 
HTG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Member Number: 88759
Location: Winston-Salem
Posts: 500
Default

anyone else got some opinion on this?
__________________
PTE 5431 on 26 psi tuned by Eric Raymond at Integrated Auto!
387/381 on pump
HTG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 10:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
bratz_729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Member Number: 75591
Location: unionville,mo
Posts: 885
Default Re: new setup, quick question

I ran mine just hanging when I was stock on pcm controlled with no issues what so ever
__________________
Built Engine: Eagle/ Arias 8.75:1, Dcr strapped, Ported head w/ Crane 18's and Fidanza Gears.

Turbo/Fuel: PTE 6262-Ported, High Voltage Fab tubular top mount, DCR dual 044s, -8/-6 line, -8 JMB rail, AGP 1200's

Mindmelt 101 tuning

Build Thread:
http://www.srtforums.com/forums/f451...-build-617761/
bratz_729 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 11:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
SIX-SIX-SIX'ONE'NINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Member Number: 86743
Location: 619, KillaCali
Posts: 1,079
Default

Did mine the same as ^^^^ when I was stock turbo on pcm controlled. Then, switching to e85 and mbc, let it hang and also being bigger turbo and running open turbo and 33-35psi, sensor being disconnected didn't hinder or rob any power.
SIX-SIX-SIX'ONE'NINE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 06:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Fresh Meat Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Member Number: 76568
Location: Chicago
Posts: 16,398
Default

Just let it hang out in the engine bay.

That temp sensor isnt as important for performance as say the charge air temp sensor.
tunerlover3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 08:29 AM   #9 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Member Number: 91051
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 80
Default

Why would they put an ambient temp sensor IN the intake? Usually D/C puts them in the fender or behind the bumper and they are used for HVAC.
__________________
'04 Silver SRT-4, almost ready to go....
dallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 10:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
Merderates da formz
 
NorthNJSRT4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Member Number: 57126
Location: Hotlanta
Posts: 14,254
Lifetime Premium Member
Default

The ambient air temp sensor is mostly used for emissions control calculations and in '05 cars it doubles as the battery temp sensor to, in part, control alternator output. If you datalog, you can use it to calculate intercooler temperature efficiency. Beyond that, like Tunerlover said, it's not as critical as the inlet temp sensor so hanging it in the fender won't hurt anything.
NorthNJSRT4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 03:46 PM   #11 (permalink)
HTG
SRTforums Member
 
HTG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Member Number: 88759
Location: Winston-Salem
Posts: 500
Default

Alright thanks for clearing this up guys! im not gonna worry about it. its in the fender and its staying there
__________________
PTE 5431 on 26 psi tuned by Eric Raymond at Integrated Auto!
387/381 on pump
HTG is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:18 AM.



(C) SRTforums.com

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2