Leaking Oil Pressure Switch - Dodge SRT Forum
 4Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 41 (permalink) Old 11-25-2013, 07:45 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
CoMbO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: La Verne
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Leaking Oil Pressure Switch

Okay I found out that my OPS is leaking and making a mess around my driveway. Me and my cousin got it on the ramps went underneath took the hard pipe off but nearly impossible to reach in there unclip the sensor nor put a ratchet up there. Can someone please advise if there is a easier way on replacing it literally making a mess. Thanks in advance.
CoMbO is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 41 (permalink) Old 11-25-2013, 08:16 AM
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nj
Posts: 2,458
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
use the how to http://www.srtforums.com/forums/f75/...d-here-189025/

how to for sending unit HOW-TO: Oil Sending Unit

405hp, 450tq
http://www.srtforums.com/forums/f451...w-123k-612933/
PCM=S0, DSP rescaled, 3bar map/tip
injectors= Siemens 80# (ebay $200)
built motor, 8.8:1 weisco, eagle-h, strap & windage
S3R DCR manifold ($500) w/evo8 turbo (ebay $150) - 20G/47# ebay ($200)
Evo 8 WGA
24x12x4 w/cast ends - CXRacing (ebay $200)
DataLogger DataQA, $25
Wideband UEGO (ebay $150)
vette rims 275/40/17
needswing v5
SouthBend S3
fixit is online now  
post #3 of 41 (permalink) Old 11-25-2013, 08:23 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
CoMbO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: La Verne
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I seen this write up still does not tell me how to remove it. The guy gave up.
CoMbO is offline  
 
post #4 of 41 (permalink) Old 11-25-2013, 08:49 AM
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nj
Posts: 2,458
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
the pdf attached to the write up is what i've used.

405hp, 450tq
http://www.srtforums.com/forums/f451...w-123k-612933/
PCM=S0, DSP rescaled, 3bar map/tip
injectors= Siemens 80# (ebay $200)
built motor, 8.8:1 weisco, eagle-h, strap & windage
S3R DCR manifold ($500) w/evo8 turbo (ebay $150) - 20G/47# ebay ($200)
Evo 8 WGA
24x12x4 w/cast ends - CXRacing (ebay $200)
DataLogger DataQA, $25
Wideband UEGO (ebay $150)
vette rims 275/40/17
needswing v5
SouthBend S3
fixit is online now  
post #5 of 41 (permalink) Old 11-25-2013, 06:59 PM
New Member
 
fivetoez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Central Ct.
Posts: 4,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
You need a 3 ft. long extension & oil psi. adapter socket with a universal.
go at it from the rear of the car looking forward.
I watched the Dealer change mine & it only took em 5 min. on the lift.

_____5TOEZ______ 1967 Cadillac Calais 429 2dr.,.... 1967 Chevelle 4sp. Conv.... ,1978 Dodge 318 "Factory Custom"van.,..... 2004 Dodge Srt-4,Stage1.5(E-Blue) & a couple motorcycles.
fivetoez is offline  
post #6 of 41 (permalink) Old 11-26-2013, 08:17 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
CoMbO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: La Verne
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
How much did the dealership charge you to replace it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by fivetoez View Post
You need a 3 ft. long extension & oil psi. adapter socket with a universal.
go at it from the rear of the car looking forward.
I watched the Dealer change mine & it only took em 5 min. on the lift.
CoMbO is offline  
post #7 of 41 (permalink) Old 11-26-2013, 01:29 PM
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: raleigh
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
i did mine at my shop on the lift. i just removed the downpipe which is easy on the lift. then you have a bunch of room to work with. it took about 10min total.
emann21 is offline  
post #8 of 41 (permalink) Old 11-26-2013, 01:46 PM
SRTforums Member
 
r1zzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Just did mine like an hour ago, tried going from the top....f-that..... Put it on the lift and used ~10' of extensions lol I didn't take anything but the ops off. Used the ops socket to get it started back then squeezed my hand in there to turn it a couple of times just in case then tightened it down


Sent from
r1zzle is offline  
post #9 of 41 (permalink) Old 11-26-2013, 02:23 PM
SRTforums Member
 
Mrturbo24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New jersey
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Pain in the ass to get to


Sent from

Mods: Tial BOV, BC Coilovers, Aem CAI, Aem Wide, dsp 93 tune, 3inch mpx (catless)exhaust, mpx bfmic, 1/3/5 gear extender
Mrturbo24 is offline  
post #10 of 41 (permalink) Old 11-26-2013, 06:36 PM
New Member
 
fivetoez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Central Ct.
Posts: 4,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoMbO View Post
How much did the dealership charge you to replace it?
Dunno, my buddy is the head mechanic.
...he did it 4 free on his lunch

_____5TOEZ______ 1967 Cadillac Calais 429 2dr.,.... 1967 Chevelle 4sp. Conv.... ,1978 Dodge 318 "Factory Custom"van.,..... 2004 Dodge Srt-4,Stage1.5(E-Blue) & a couple motorcycles.
fivetoez is offline  
post #11 of 41 (permalink) Old 11-26-2013, 07:42 PM
SRTforums Member
 
TOMTOMR/TSRT4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: NY
Posts: 923
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrturbo24 View Post
Pain in the ass to get to

Sent from
Yup I thought my ops was bad but it was actually from my mechanic. When he replaced my clutch he must of not realized it but he ripped the microscopic wire from the connector. I got to it from removing the battery and holding the wires out of the way.


Sent from
TOMTOMR/TSRT4 is offline  
post #12 of 41 (permalink) Old 11-27-2013, 07:19 PM
SRTforums Member
 
crazzinezz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: guelph
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Did one for my buddy in my garage at home. did it from in behind the engine cradle with ops socket and flex ratchet. Pain in the ass to get at took 30min. Did another buddy's on hoist at work ops socket + u joint + 10" ext again from in behind cradle 10min job.. didnt have to remove any piping or anything else for either.


Sent from

T3/T4 Garrett bb 50 Trim - S2 Crower cams - P&P - Rev oversize valves - 888 Injectors - Fuel return set up - Tial Bov - Tial 38mm WG - 75mm TB - Custom Intake Manifold - Walbro 255lph - 3" exhaust with e-cutout - CAI - ACT Stage 3 clutch - 3bar map + tip
crazzinezz is offline  
post #13 of 41 (permalink) Old 11-27-2013, 08:19 PM
SRTforums Member
 
bzzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 5,028
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1369 Post(s)
What are you guys talking about?
I did it from the top in 20 minutes.
Remove battery and intake, unhook trans shifter cables, un-bolt shifter cable bracket, un-plug the wire, and put the deep socket on the OPS.
Kind of difficult reaching down there but no special tools required except the deep socket.

2004 Silver SRT-4
Stage I, AEM CAI, UDP, cut balance chain
bzzt is offline  
post #14 of 41 (permalink) Old 11-28-2013, 10:40 PM
SRTforums Member
 
SRT4Delta46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Are u guys talking about oil pressure sensor? Because I'm leaking all over beside the oil drain and only thing i see it can be is the yellow sensor?

Sent from

Stock turbo Full Bolt ons E85

Dyno Numbers
93-273hp 342trq 22psi
e85- 314hp 400trq 23psi

Coming soon AGP Borg Warner sx51
SRT4Delta46 is offline  
post #15 of 41 (permalink) Old 11-28-2013, 10:42 PM
SRTforums Member
 
Mrturbo24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New jersey
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRT4Delta46 View Post
Are u guys talking about oil pressure sensor? Because I'm leaking all over beside the oil drain and only thing i see it can be is the yellow sensor?

Sent from
Yeaa


Sent from

Mods: Tial BOV, BC Coilovers, Aem CAI, Aem Wide, dsp 93 tune, 3inch mpx (catless)exhaust, mpx bfmic, 1/3/5 gear extender
Mrturbo24 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome