Turbo break in period? - SRT Forums - SRT4, SRT6, SRT8, SRT10 & Dodge Forum
 
 


Go Back   SRT Forums - SRT4, SRT6, SRT8, SRT10 & Dodge Forum > SRT-4 Technical Discussion > Engine/Turbos/Ignition

SrtForums.com is the premier Dodge SRT Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2012, 09:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Member Number: 84209
Location: Virginia
Posts: 103
Default Turbo break in period?

Do new turbos have a break in period? I just replaced my broken stock turbo with a new stock turbo.


Autoguide iPhone app
__________________
2005 Orange Blast SRT-4
Mods: Mopar CAI, AGP 50trim, Needswings 3" catted downpipe, R&D Thermal Exhaust, IC 775s, Turbosmart boost tee MBC
Beloved1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-28-2012, 09:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
strokedracer05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Member Number: 77818
Location: Belpre Ohio
Posts: 4,892
Default

Whos doing the rebuild??? Do they recommend something specific? I recommend taking it easy at first dont just go balls to the wall as soon as you get it on just wait a little for everything to set in then proceed to normal boosting
strokedracer05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 02:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Member Number: 73763
Location: The Region
Posts: 1,180
Default

Its also a good idea to crank the car a few times without starting it to get a little oil in the turbo. Dont want a dry start for the very first start!
__________________
Harley Davidson: The process of turning fuel into pure noise, without the side effect of horsepower.

An SRT 4 withouth a wing is like a hillbilly with all of his teeth...of course it looks better, but it just isnt right!

Against the rules
zx636d6f is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 03:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
datsrtguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Member Number: 81847
Location: roosevelt ny
Posts: 528
Default

Yea take out the fuel pump fuse and crank it for a few minutes let it warm up with no revs then boost away!!!
__________________
RWD>FWD TQ>NO TQ
01 s2k DD
05 stg 2 sold

datsrtguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 03:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
ggferris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Member Number: 76676
Location: lejeune/so cal
Posts: 3,099
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by datsrtguy View Post
Yea take out the fuel pump fuse and crank it for a few minutes let it warm up with no revs then boost away!!!

a few minutes? more like 3 sets of 15 seconds of cranking..even thats over kill.

and leave the fuel pump relay in. all you have to to is hold the gas pedal down all the way to the floor. that kills the injectors
ggferris is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:27 PM.



(C) SRTforums.com

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2