No boost! - SRT Forums - SRT4, SRT6, SRT8, SRT10 & Dodge Forum
 
 


Go Back   SRT Forums - SRT4, SRT6, SRT8, SRT10 & Dodge Forum > SRT-4 Technical Discussion > Engine/Turbos/Ignition

SrtForums.com is the premier Dodge SRT Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2013, 04:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Member Number: 36666
Location: Greenville
Posts: 209
Default No boost!

I just finish installing a Treadstone turbo kit. My boost controller or my boost gauge is not registering any boost. The boost gauge will move from -20 to 0. Any thoughts?
bfgracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2013, 04:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Fresh Meat Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Member Number: 76568
Location: Chicago
Posts: 16,398
Default

Do a boost leak test.
tunerlover3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 05:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Member Number: 36666
Location: Greenville
Posts: 209
Default

I know you were going to say that. I’m not saying that I couldn’t have a leak but I can’t imagine having a leak as I tighten everything up during the install. Could I have connected the lines wrong? I only had 1 port on the Turbo to connect my lines to. I had three lines to connect. At the first Y I ran 1 to the bottom port of the wastegate and ran the other side to the next Y which I then connected 2 lines, one to the factory vacuum line and the other line to my boost controller. I appreciate your help.
bfgracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 06:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Fresh Meat Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Member Number: 76568
Location: Chicago
Posts: 16,398
Default

You should just have a hose going from the wastegate to the boost controller, then a hose from the boost controller to the turbo.

You cant use the factory solenoid unless you get a custom tune for a big turbo on pcm control.
tunerlover3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 06:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
ShaRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Member Number: 84460
Location: Afghan/Lompoc
Posts: 200
Default

IC piping connected?
__________________
ShaRT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 07:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Member Number: 36666
Location: Greenville
Posts: 209
Default

Itís an external wategate. The instruction from TurboNectics says to connect the bottom port on the wastegate to the turbo. The switch from my boost controller also needs to be connecting to the turbo. The other hose is connecting to the factory turbo solenoid. The question that I have from not connecting the last vac. line, where does my factory boost gauge get itís ready from?

Are you suggesting that I donít connect anything to the bottom port on the wastegate and turbo solenoid?
bfgracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 07:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Member Number: 36666
Location: Greenville
Posts: 209
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by ShaRT View Post
IC piping connected?

Iím sorry. Iíve been out of the loop for a while. What is IC?
bfgracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 07:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
kicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Member Number: 91631
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 102
Default Re: No boost!

Intercooler
__________________
Duster Tuned
50 Trim
PCM Boost
Boost by Gear

465whp 475wtq E85
E.T. 11.32 @ 130mph
kicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 07:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Fresh Meat Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Member Number: 76568
Location: Chicago
Posts: 16,398
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by bfgracing View Post
Itís an external wategate. The instruction from TurboNectics says to connect the bottom port on the wastegate to the turbo. The switch from my boost controller also needs to be connecting to the turbo. The other hose is connecting to the factory turbo solenoid. The question that I have from not connecting the last vac. line, where does my factory boost gauge get itís ready from?

Are you suggesting that I donít connect anything to the bottom port on the wastegate and turbo solenoid?

What kind of boost controller do you have?????

If its a manual boost controller it needs to go from the bottom wastegate port to the boost controller, then boost controller to the turbo. You CANNOT use the stock solenoid unless you get a custom tune.
tunerlover3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 07:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Member Number: 36666
Location: Greenville
Posts: 209
Default

GReddy electric Boost controller
bfgracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 07:48 PM   #11 (permalink)
Fresh Meat Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Member Number: 76568
Location: Chicago
Posts: 16,398
Default

You dont use the factory dodge solenoid with the electronic boost controller.
tunerlover3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 07:56 PM   #12 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Member Number: 36666
Location: Greenville
Posts: 209
Default

The wastegate and the switch have two ports. The bottom port on the WG and the back port on the switch are to be connected to the turbo and the top port on the WG and the side port on the switch are ti be connected together according to the instructions. I will try anything that you suggest but I just won't you to have a clear understand of my set up.
bfgracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 07:59 PM   #13 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Member Number: 36666
Location: Greenville
Posts: 209
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by tunerlover3 View Post
You dont use the factory dodge solenoid with the electronic boost controller.

I had thought that but I had two ports on the factory turbo and left it connected.
bfgracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 08:00 PM   #14 (permalink)
Fresh Meat Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Member Number: 76568
Location: Chicago
Posts: 16,398
Default

You kept saying factory solenoid meaning the stock solenoid. You cant use it. You should be using the solenoid that comes with the greedy.

Did you install the fire ring on the wastegate by chance? Put your at the end of the dump tube and see if you can feel exhaust coming out.
tunerlover3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 08:11 PM   #15 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Member Number: 36666
Location: Greenville
Posts: 209
Default

I don't need the stock solenoid, I'm using the the GReddy. Just left it there because i had two ports with the stock turbo and was not sure if I needed those connecting.

Fire ring you mean the gasket? Yes it's installed.
bfgracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:05 AM.



(C) SRTforums.com

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2