NEED HELP... PLEASE igniton issues - SRT Forums - SRT4, SRT6, SRT8, SRT10 & Dodge Forum
 
 


Go Back   SRT Forums - SRT4, SRT6, SRT8, SRT10 & Dodge Forum > SRT-4 Technical Discussion > Engine/Turbos/Ignition

SrtForums.com is the premier Dodge SRT Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2012, 01:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Premium Member (Lifetime)
SRT of the Month
 
underSRTarmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Member Number: 32888
Location: N. La/ E. Tx
Posts: 9,176
Lifetime Premium Member
Default NEED HELP... PLEASE igniton issues

so here is my story....

started off i installed aem failsafe, install went very good, every thing worked....
next i tapped #4 injector for rpm signal, i bought these injector clips (<<<click)they were on my car for 800 miles about 6 mth, i notice that # 4 is broken in the middle. upon inspection i find more than 1 messed up.
so i decided to solder the pig tails i got with my fic 1100s. i soldered and heat shrinked all 4 injector clips on. ALL works well go do some pulls notice im .5-.7 richer. Cool right, the other connectors werent making a very good connection. still every thing good.

well using #4 injector the data log of the rpm had a few spikes in it not sure why, car still ran strong. so i decided to use a tach adapter, here is where my prob is.....

so i hook up the tach adapter just like the instructions say and i use the green wire like the how to shows. i cut the wire going to #4 injector tapped up the end temporary to see if the tach adapter was a better option.
tach adapter didnt work. it was soldered and all wired correctly. NO big deal ill just remove it solder the wire back for the coil and continue to use #4 as my rpm signal...

here is where my problems, i hooked up everything back to normal. using #4 for my rpm signal soldered the green wire back to itself. check all wires around to make sure nothing got nicked or melted.... all wire check out fine.

go to start my car and i get a blinking CEL (multi cyl misfire right) car has no throttle reponse and sounds like a broken subaru....

things is checked

all pins in igntion harness,
plug for cam sensor
all 3 wires on ignition harness


i changed

plugs
wire
coil pack mopar one

i still get all the same results. i thought maybe the coil pack dont like the resistance bc of the solder,(if any extra was put) so i used a male and female spade connectors... (looks like crap right now but ill fix it later with soleder if it works)

looks like the only thing that did was keep the cel from flashing. still runs like crap. i bought a spark tester, every cyl is firing....

here alil video
BORKED


i know installed the tach adapter correctly. i really hope the pcm isnt dead......
__________________
TUNED By MindMelt101
MyBuild Thread
10.99 @132.23 1.70 60ft 27 psi
Need Fuel setup ideas click here
Props go out to:
Mindmelt101, Tuner Geeks, Act, Wikyd Performance, Pwerks

Last edited by underSRTarmor; 11-21-2012 at 01:14 PM.
underSRTarmor is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-21-2012, 01:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Supporting Vendor (Gold)
SRT of the Month
 
turbo666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Member Number: 25206
Location: Conover, NC
Posts: 7,512
Lifetime Premium Member
Default

I haven't watched the video but did you verify which cylinder is misfiring yet? Is number 4 now the problematic cylinder? Any other codes besides a the blinking CEL?

Thanks
__________________
Full Builds, Fab Work, Dyno Tuning and parts all available. Message me for any details!
9.74@146 on a DSP tune FIRST STOCK SRT-4 PCM TUNED CAR IN THE 9s!
Look no further for proven performance parts and tuning!
Nigel

http://www.brutalfab.com/store/
turbo666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 01:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Premium Member (Lifetime)
SRT of the Month
 
underSRTarmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Member Number: 32888
Location: N. La/ E. Tx
Posts: 9,176
Lifetime Premium Member
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by turbo666 View Post
I haven't watched the video but did you verify which cylinder is misfiring yet? Is number 4 now the problematic cylinder? Any other codes besides a the blinking CEL?

Thanks

i went back and unsoldered the green wire and put shielded male and female spade connectors. and now i get NO blinking cel just runs like crap...

no cyl is giving me problems that i can tell.... with the tester the all flash regularly and they all the same brightness
__________________
TUNED By MindMelt101
MyBuild Thread
10.99 @132.23 1.70 60ft 27 psi
Need Fuel setup ideas click here
Props go out to:
Mindmelt101, Tuner Geeks, Act, Wikyd Performance, Pwerks
underSRTarmor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 01:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Supporting Vendor (Gold)
SRT of the Month
 
turbo666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Member Number: 25206
Location: Conover, NC
Posts: 7,512
Lifetime Premium Member
Default

What are your fuel trims doing? What does the wideband show?

Do a cylinder balance test to see if you can pinpoint the faulty cylinder.
__________________
Full Builds, Fab Work, Dyno Tuning and parts all available. Message me for any details!
9.74@146 on a DSP tune FIRST STOCK SRT-4 PCM TUNED CAR IN THE 9s!
Look no further for proven performance parts and tuning!
Nigel

http://www.brutalfab.com/store/
turbo666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 01:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Boostinfamily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Member Number: 77511
Location: Missouri
Posts: 2,749
Default

or unhook injectors and look for a difference in idle. THEN do a fuel pressure test, then a compression( balance) test, then a leak down test.
Boostinfamily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 01:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Premium Member (Lifetime)
SRT of the Month
 
underSRTarmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Member Number: 32888
Location: N. La/ E. Tx
Posts: 9,176
Lifetime Premium Member
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by Boostinfamily View Post
or unhook injectors and look for a difference in idle. THEN do a fuel pressure test, then a compression( balance) test, then a leak down test.

i did a compression test a week ago(150 across) the last time i drove it. the car ran PERFECT before i install the tach adapter then pulled it back off..

i did unhook the injectors in the video. all make the engine sound like it about to die... u can hear it in the video alil...

fuel pressure is on point

i dont have a leak down tester.....


Quote: Originally Posted by turbo666 View Post
What are your fuel trims doing? What does the wideband show?

Do a cylinder balance test to see if you can pinpoint the faulty cylinder.

ill have to check the trims, the afr is 14.3 to 14.7 no changes

ill recheck the compression and trim when i get home in 1/2 hr.
__________________
TUNED By MindMelt101
MyBuild Thread
10.99 @132.23 1.70 60ft 27 psi
Need Fuel setup ideas click here
Props go out to:
Mindmelt101, Tuner Geeks, Act, Wikyd Performance, Pwerks

Last edited by underSRTarmor; 11-21-2012 at 01:55 PM.
underSRTarmor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 01:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Premium Member (Lifetime)
SRT of the Month
 
underSRTarmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Member Number: 32888
Location: N. La/ E. Tx
Posts: 9,176
Lifetime Premium Member
Default

thank for all the help/info guys!!!!
__________________
TUNED By MindMelt101
MyBuild Thread
10.99 @132.23 1.70 60ft 27 psi
Need Fuel setup ideas click here
Props go out to:
Mindmelt101, Tuner Geeks, Act, Wikyd Performance, Pwerks
underSRTarmor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 01:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Supporting Vendor (Gold)
SRT of the Month
 
turbo666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Member Number: 25206
Location: Conover, NC
Posts: 7,512
Lifetime Premium Member
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by Boostinfamily View Post
or unhook injectors and look for a difference in idle. THEN do a fuel pressure test, then a compression( balance) test, then a leak down test.

That's what I meant by a balance test. lol.

Take a log and make sure everything looks normal fuel trim and baro/map wise.
__________________
Full Builds, Fab Work, Dyno Tuning and parts all available. Message me for any details!
9.74@146 on a DSP tune FIRST STOCK SRT-4 PCM TUNED CAR IN THE 9s!
Look no further for proven performance parts and tuning!
Nigel

http://www.brutalfab.com/store/
turbo666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 02:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Premium Member (Lifetime)
SRT of the Month
 
underSRTarmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Member Number: 32888
Location: N. La/ E. Tx
Posts: 9,176
Lifetime Premium Member
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by turbo666 View Post
That's what I meant by a balance test. lol.

Take a log and make sure everything looks normal fuel trim and baro/map wise.

k, on my way home... ill report back....
__________________
TUNED By MindMelt101
MyBuild Thread
10.99 @132.23 1.70 60ft 27 psi
Need Fuel setup ideas click here
Props go out to:
Mindmelt101, Tuner Geeks, Act, Wikyd Performance, Pwerks
underSRTarmor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 02:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Boostinfamily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Member Number: 77511
Location: Missouri
Posts: 2,749
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by turbo666 View Post
That's what I meant by a balance test. lol.

Take a log and make sure everything looks normal fuel trim and baro/map wise.

aaah LOL, usually a "balance" test here involves compression of one bank verus another in V setups, and versus each cylinder on I4's

i wonder.. did you reverse the ground control circuit wires?? ( 1 power feed 2 control)

i can't watch video at work..soo that is making this that much harder.
Boostinfamily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 02:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
Premium Member (Lifetime)
SRT of the Month
 
underSRTarmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Member Number: 32888
Location: N. La/ E. Tx
Posts: 9,176
Lifetime Premium Member
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by Boostinfamily View Post
aaah LOL, usually a "balance" test here involves compression of one bank verus another in V setups, and versus each cylinder on I4's

i wonder.. did you reverse the ground control circuit wires?? ( 1 power feed 2 control)

i can't watch video at work..soo that is making this that much harder.

Not sure what u mean by reverse the wires.




__________________
TUNED By MindMelt101
MyBuild Thread
10.99 @132.23 1.70 60ft 27 psi
Need Fuel setup ideas click here
Props go out to:
Mindmelt101, Tuner Geeks, Act, Wikyd Performance, Pwerks
underSRTarmor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 02:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
Premium Member (Lifetime)
SRT of the Month
 
underSRTarmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Member Number: 32888
Location: N. La/ E. Tx
Posts: 9,176
Lifetime Premium Member
Default

Compression 150 across.


__________________
TUNED By MindMelt101
MyBuild Thread
10.99 @132.23 1.70 60ft 27 psi
Need Fuel setup ideas click here
Props go out to:
Mindmelt101, Tuner Geeks, Act, Wikyd Performance, Pwerks
underSRTarmor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 03:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
Premium Member (Lifetime)
SRT of the Month
 
underSRTarmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Member Number: 32888
Location: N. La/ E. Tx
Posts: 9,176
Lifetime Premium Member
Default



__________________
TUNED By MindMelt101
MyBuild Thread
10.99 @132.23 1.70 60ft 27 psi
Need Fuel setup ideas click here
Props go out to:
Mindmelt101, Tuner Geeks, Act, Wikyd Performance, Pwerks
underSRTarmor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 03:13 PM   #14 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Member Number: 89087
Location: Guam
Posts: 59
Default

Did you get the injector wires backwards when you soldered them? One is power and the other is ground or the control wire from the PCM.

Last edited by CATGUY; 11-21-2012 at 03:14 PM. Reason: Not sure if it matters on these cars but its worth a shot
CATGUY is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 03:24 PM   #15 (permalink)
Premium Member (Lifetime)
SRT of the Month
 
underSRTarmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Member Number: 32888
Location: N. La/ E. Tx
Posts: 9,176
Lifetime Premium Member
Default

I match it to the same as it was with the stock clips green on right and other wire on left.

Thing is I soldered the injectors weeks ago. Are the injectors even polarity sensitive?


__________________
TUNED By MindMelt101
MyBuild Thread
10.99 @132.23 1.70 60ft 27 psi
Need Fuel setup ideas click here
Props go out to:
Mindmelt101, Tuner Geeks, Act, Wikyd Performance, Pwerks

Last edited by underSRTarmor; 11-21-2012 at 03:34 PM.
underSRTarmor is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:28 PM.



(C) SRTforums.com

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2