Cam position sensor - SRT Forums - SRT4, SRT6, SRT8, SRT10 & Dodge Forum
 
 


Go Back   SRT Forums - SRT4, SRT6, SRT8, SRT10 & Dodge Forum > SRT-4 Technical Discussion > Engine/Turbos/Ignition

SrtForums.com is the premier Dodge SRT Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2012, 02:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Member Number: 87114
Location: Tracy
Posts: 52
Default Cam position sensor

Whats up everyone i have a quick question . 2005 Neon Srt-4 has 64k miles on it and the cam sensor has gone out twice one of them was yesterday i got the car with 57k miles . Typical problem that presents itself when the sensor goes out it rev limits every gear up too 2500 rpm. So i want to know what the possible reason could be to why that sensor keeps going out . Any help is highly appreciated -thanks


Autoguide iPhone app
flushsrt4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-14-2012, 02:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
SRTFORUM Moderator
 
Advans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member Number: 12791
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 23,036
Lifetime Premium Member
Default

Are you using a OEM sensor, or a Auto parts store brand? Non OEM one's tend to not last long, or at all.

Also, have you replaced the actual magnet, not just the sensor.
__________________
Advans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 03:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
DKING246's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Member Number: 82074
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 866
Default

Also make sure your intake isn't rubbing on the wiring to the sensor.
__________________
Mopar S3-E85-tuned by Mindmelt
13 Jeep JKU (mall crawler)
DKING246 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 04:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
05Orangesicle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Member Number: 75076
Location: Macomb,Mi
Posts: 110
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by Advans View Post
Are you using a OEM sensor, or a Auto parts store brand? Non OEM one's tend to not last long, or at all.

Also, have you replaced the actual magnet, not just the sensor.

X2 I went through 3 autozone sensors and magnets. Then got the molar sensor and magnet off modern performance and worked like a charm.


Autoguide iPhone app
__________________
MODS:
DSP (Canned 93 Tune)
Perrin 3" TBE
K&N CAI
Mopar Blue Plate
AEM Wideband
05Orangesicle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 01:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Member Number: 87114
Location: Tracy
Posts: 52
Default

Yea im using the one from o reily . Its beginning to irritate me i will be looking into that one you guys are saying because i cant just keep throwing money into such a defective peice . Thanks for the help everyone


Autoguide iPhone app
flushsrt4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 01:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Member Number: 87114
Location: Tracy
Posts: 52
Default

And ill be looking into that magnet . Its never been replaced .


Autoguide iPhone app
flushsrt4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 01:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
KALVIN97GAGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member Number: 3373
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,723
Default

It's recommended to replace both because the magnet somehow goes bad after a while. I tried an advanced auto cheap sensor and it failed within 2 days and I drove less than 20 miles on it (BWD brand).
__________________
401whp/407tq AGP dbb 50t .63AR with all supporting mods
Sold after 7+ years of ownership
duster360=STILL the worst tuner on the site

New daily: 05 C55 AMG
KALVIN97GAGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 11:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
05Orangesicle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Member Number: 75076
Location: Macomb,Mi
Posts: 110
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by flushsrt4 View Post
Yea im using the one from o reily . Its beginning to irritate me i will be looking into that one you guys are saying because i cant just keep throwing money into such a defective peice . Thanks for the help everyone


Autoguide iPhone app

Yup tried an o'reillys one too. That lasted a whole 2 weeks. Get a Mopar sensor and magnet and be done with it.


Autoguide iPhone app
__________________
MODS:
DSP (Canned 93 Tune)
Perrin 3" TBE
K&N CAI
Mopar Blue Plate
AEM Wideband
05Orangesicle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 12:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Member Number: 80758
Location: Riverside,CA
Posts: 18
Default

They just dont last long Especially if your using non "mopar" parts..
35RSRT-4ACR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 12:09 AM   #10 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Member Number: 92183
Location: washington
Posts: 1
Default car cuts out and dies

ok ive got around 77k miles and at first it started out with the coilpack harness messing up and my car would start sometimes and die other times then i would pop the hood and unplug it then plug it back in and it would start again, so after a few weeks of that i change the harness. but now i will be driving and it will die, then i tried unplugging the camshaft position sensor and plugging it back in and it starts right up then goes amazing for a while and will do it again. anyone know of any fixes ? thanks.
lumpcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 09:12 AM   #11 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
05_srt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Member Number: 82935
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 172
Default

Also make sure your valve cover isn't leaking oil all over the sensor. Oil can disrupt the signal from what I've heard. Also been told to replace cam sensor and magnet and the crank sensor all at the same time
05_srt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 10:53 AM   #12 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
The Dude2200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Member Number: 87965
Location: Hinsdale, MA
Posts: 264
Default

Only use Mopar Cam position sensors!! And always replace the magnet with it. I keep an extra sensor in my glove box just in case. These cars DO NOT like aftermarket sensors for anything.
__________________
The Dude2200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 11:31 AM   #13 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Kysrt05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Member Number: 89139
Location: Mt sterling
Posts: 44
Default Re: Cam position sensor

I've been using the bwd orielys sensor for a while and haven't had any problem,,,,

HTC One X using AutoGuide.C
Kysrt05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 05:51 AM   #14 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
BIIIGGGTURBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Member Number: 74669
Location: North Adams, MA
Posts: 655
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by The Dude2200 View Post
Only use Mopar Cam position sensors!! And always replace the magnet with it. I keep an extra sensor in my glove box just in case. These cars DO NOT like aftermarket sensors for anything.

Hahah caleb........tell me about it. 98,900mi on my car and I've put one magnet and 4 sensor in it. Now I just keep one in my trunk on hand and the tools to install it........along with enough tools to swap an axle
__________________
#1. 05 4 door neon w/ a baby seat and a delta 44
#2. 94 z28 bolted-on LT1 (Corvette Killer)
#3. 06 Mazda 3 (The mommy-mobile)
#4. 04 CBR 600RR <--newly refurbished.....thank you large chunks of ice and good insurance
BIIIGGGTURBO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 08:59 AM   #15 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
The Dude2200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Member Number: 87965
Location: Hinsdale, MA
Posts: 264
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by BIIIGGGTURBO View Post
Hahah caleb........tell me about it. 98,900mi on my car and I've put one magnet and 4 sensor in it. Now I just keep one in my trunk on hand and the tools to install it........along with enough tools to swap an axle

Yup... never know when you'll have to change an axle in a WalMart parking lot.... haha
__________________
The Dude2200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:19 PM.



(C) SRTforums.com

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2