Because a crappy day isn't complete without a CEL - Dodge SRT Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-12-2012, 09:39 AM Thread Starter
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Because a crappy day isn't complete without a CEL

I haven't owned many cars with problems, so I'm taken aback whenever I get a maintenance light like this. I don't really know how to go about diagnosing it, either, I'm just trying to drive as infrequently as possible. Is there a relatively cheap device that can read our CEL's? If not, could someone help me determine what it might be for or point me in the direction of somewhere OTHER than NTB that could help? Or any way to troubleshoot why it might have turned on?

Also I've got an ABS light on, and I know that has to do with the brakes but I don't know what...

SOLD: Black 03 SRT-4 with the following mods: S1, AGP WGA, MGW Short Throw, 3" Needswings DP (manual), Tein S-Tech's, Mopar Intake, Tial BOV, FMIC (but I'm looking for a new one!)

NOW: Velocity Red MS6 GT - one fast mofo.

Last edited by atx512; 11-12-2012 at 09:45 AM.
atx512 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-12-2012, 09:43 AM
SRTforums Member
 
*ALEX*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: gh illinois
Posts: 1,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Flip the key to read the codes

Quote:
Originally Posted by lVlemphizStylez View Post
When I open my hood people think the car is on all kinds of steroids
*ALEX* is online now  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-12-2012, 10:00 AM
SRTforums Member
 
ggferris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: lejeune/so cal
Posts: 3,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gixxermaniak View Post
Flip the key to read the codes
Turn the key from the off position to on , as in the fuel pump turns on. do not start the car. Do this I believe 3 times and the cel code will appear where your mileage is displayed. Then Google the code.
ggferris is offline  
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-12-2012, 10:00 AM Thread Starter
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gixxermaniak View Post
Flip the key to read the codes
I'm sorry, can you be more specific? That doesn't make a whole lot of sense to me.

SOLD: Black 03 SRT-4 with the following mods: S1, AGP WGA, MGW Short Throw, 3" Needswings DP (manual), Tein S-Tech's, Mopar Intake, Tial BOV, FMIC (but I'm looking for a new one!)

NOW: Velocity Red MS6 GT - one fast mofo.
atx512 is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-12-2012, 11:05 AM
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
With the car off, cycle the key from the off position to the run (not start, the car doesn't turn over) position 3 times, quickly, as:
off- run, off- run, off- run
After the third cycle leave the key in the run position. The code or codes will display in the odometer. If there are multiple codes they will appear one after the other, so you may have to do this a couple of times to get them all.
Dr. Gonzo is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-12-2012, 11:12 AM
SRTforums Member
 
TRPKelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Oakdale, CA
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
if you have an android buy the torque app, then go on ebay and buy a elm 327 obd2 bluetooth adapter, app costs 5 dollars, adapter about 20, and you can check engine codes, clear them, see live data, all kinds of stuff

SAMSUNG-SGH-I997 using AutoGuide.C
TRPKelly is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-12-2012, 12:03 PM Thread Starter
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Wow that's so convenient! I had no idea that checking codes was that easy! I'll do that as soon as it's out of NTB getting an alignment (free alignments for a year because I bought their tires woo!). That's so helpful! Will that read the ABS light too?

SOLD: Black 03 SRT-4 with the following mods: S1, AGP WGA, MGW Short Throw, 3" Needswings DP (manual), Tein S-Tech's, Mopar Intake, Tial BOV, FMIC (but I'm looking for a new one!)

NOW: Velocity Red MS6 GT - one fast mofo.
atx512 is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-12-2012, 02:08 PM
SRTforums Member
 
Boostinfamily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 2,778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
.. abs light is usually a speed sensor problem. 9 times out of 10 anyway.. when it isn't look out since that 10nth time it is the module assembly.

most places that scan OBD2 like advanced or oreilly's can access obd2 ABS codes.. please note i said MOST not ALL.
Boostinfamily is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-12-2012, 02:16 PM Thread Starter
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Actually - I got it sorted out! While I was getting an Alignment an NTB guy ran them for free. Turns out it was something to do with my ignition key, and a second code for my power steering switch? Both very weird. However, he said that the ABS was actually front left speed sensor - @boostinfamily you were right on the money!
Now how do I go about getting that fixed?

SOLD: Black 03 SRT-4 with the following mods: S1, AGP WGA, MGW Short Throw, 3" Needswings DP (manual), Tein S-Tech's, Mopar Intake, Tial BOV, FMIC (but I'm looking for a new one!)

NOW: Velocity Red MS6 GT - one fast mofo.
atx512 is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-12-2012, 02:47 PM
SRTforums Member
 
Boostinfamily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 2,778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
buy a speed sensor for the front, unplug the old sensor and take out the retainer bolt install new one. very simple.

also is your power steering notchy? if not then the pressure sensor switch is likely going/is bad otherwise look into a new P/S pump if it is notchy or noisy, as the reservoir is integrated and the filter in the reservoir on chryslers likes to plug up.

Last edited by Boostinfamily; 11-12-2012 at 02:49 PM.
Boostinfamily is offline  
post #11 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-12-2012, 03:21 PM Thread Starter
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Well that doesn't sound bad at all! Where is it roughly located on the car?

It hasn't felt so bad! I mean maybe in reverse a tiny bit but I've barely noticed.
I'll look into it though, thanks for all your help!

SOLD: Black 03 SRT-4 with the following mods: S1, AGP WGA, MGW Short Throw, 3" Needswings DP (manual), Tein S-Tech's, Mopar Intake, Tial BOV, FMIC (but I'm looking for a new one!)

NOW: Velocity Red MS6 GT - one fast mofo.
atx512 is offline  
post #12 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-12-2012, 03:32 PM
SRTforums Member
 
Boostinfamily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 2,778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
look at the spindle/steering knuckle, it should be a little black plastic peice with a black line/wire coming off of it.

you will have to remove the tire/wheel from the hub to make it easy.
Boostinfamily is offline  
post #13 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-12-2012, 03:37 PM Thread Starter
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Is it possible to do without removing the wheel? I currently have no access to a jack... But by that same token, a speed sensor is not an incredibly pressing thing to replace, except to remove a pesky cluster light, right? Like what's the worst that could happen?

SOLD: Black 03 SRT-4 with the following mods: S1, AGP WGA, MGW Short Throw, 3" Needswings DP (manual), Tein S-Tech's, Mopar Intake, Tial BOV, FMIC (but I'm looking for a new one!)

NOW: Velocity Red MS6 GT - one fast mofo.
atx512 is offline  
post #14 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-12-2012, 05:50 PM
SRTforums Member
 
Boostinfamily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 2,778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
if you drive i winter or slippery conditions, the ABS will not prevent the wheels from lockingg up, thereby reducing your stopping potential, and possibly sending you into a spin out condition.

also the car should have a jack in the trunk, use that to lift up the vehicle, and brace it with an old steel rim or a bunch of wood blocks.
Boostinfamily is offline  
post #15 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-12-2012, 10:19 PM Thread Starter
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
No, I understand that it's important - but I live in Texas and it almost never rains. Worst comes to worst my brakes are alright, but I sure wouldn't like spinning out.

That jack's a little rusty for whatever reason and I'm not really comfortable using it ): I just need to borrow a buddy's, I'll take care of it in the next week or two. Thanks for the input!

SOLD: Black 03 SRT-4 with the following mods: S1, AGP WGA, MGW Short Throw, 3" Needswings DP (manual), Tein S-Tech's, Mopar Intake, Tial BOV, FMIC (but I'm looking for a new one!)

NOW: Velocity Red MS6 GT - one fast mofo.
atx512 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome