foglight hid kit? - Dodge SRT Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 31 (permalink) Old 05-10-2011, 10:07 PM Thread Starter
SRTforums Member
 
jonnybuff4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Fairfield, Ca
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
foglight hid kit?

do the ebay kits come with everything needed to install?lookin for a 8000k hid for foglights.thanks

jonnybuff4life is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 31 (permalink) Old 05-10-2011, 11:24 PM
SRTForums Member
2011 Calendar Car

SRT of the Month wannabe
 
whiteSRT69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Budd Lake, NJ
Posts: 7,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
most likely it wont come with a relay harness but i suggest you buying one!

MPX piaa Fog light kid = FTW


/thread


1999 Plymouth Neon = SOLD
2005 Dodge Neon SRT4 = SOLD
2014 Scion FRS = current
whiteSRT69 is offline  
post #3 of 31 (permalink) Old 05-10-2011, 11:26 PM
2011 Calendar Car
SRT of the Month
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NEOH!
Posts: 17,938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Which ebay kits? There's so many, you need to post a link to what you're looking at.

RIP Jon Timko 1981-2011
wiggy is offline  
post #4 of 31 (permalink) Old 05-11-2011, 06:41 AM
SRTforums Member
 
diznan88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Windermere
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm doing the same thing. I ordered the 880 hid kid. But I also went with the relay. That I had to buy separate. The reason for the harness is from what I've read the fog lights have a stepped down voltage and when you fire the hids up there's only enough power to light one off. So when you use the relay way you have straight batterie power and both will light off. But mabe I'm lieing?
diznan88 is offline  
post #5 of 31 (permalink) Old 05-11-2011, 07:30 AM
SRTforums Member
 
dink74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MD
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have had really good luck with DDM Tuning. they have inexpensive kits that work great and so far seem to last. I have had the 880 fogs in my 95 for 3 years now and have had no issues at all.

Dink

Stretching should be left to the pros ...
On the BangBus
HellaFlush putting more SRT's in Salvage yards everyday.
dink74 is offline  
post #6 of 31 (permalink) Old 05-11-2011, 08:28 AM
2011 Calendar Car
SRT of the Month
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NEOH!
Posts: 17,938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by diznan88 View Post
I'm doing the same thing. I ordered the 880 hid kid. But I also went with the relay. That I had to buy separate. The reason for the harness is from what I've read the fog lights have a stepped down voltage and when you fire the hids up there's only enough power to light one off. So when you use the relay way you have straight batterie power and both will light off. But mabe I'm lieing?
That's basically what the relay does.

The ballast cranks a ton of juice through the harness to fire up the HIDs (running them actually requires less energy though) and that can fry your multi-function switch (MFS).

Quote:
Originally Posted by dink74 View Post
I have had really good luck with DDM Tuning. they have inexpensive kits that work great and so far seem to last. I have had the 880 fogs in my 95 for 3 years now and have had no issues at all.

Dink
As much as I'm not a huge fan of DDM and VVME, they at least are known on the forums and do have at least mediocre customer service. Who knows with eBay.

RIP Jon Timko 1981-2011
wiggy is offline  
post #7 of 31 (permalink) Old 05-11-2011, 10:42 AM Thread Starter
SRTforums Member
 
jonnybuff4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Fairfield, Ca
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
im just tryin to get a something kinda cheap but i didnt kno what all is needed to install on our cars.does the kits come with 2 relays?

jonnybuff4life is offline  
post #8 of 31 (permalink) Old 05-11-2011, 11:32 AM
SRTforums Member
 
diznan88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Windermere
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
You only need one. One harness will connect to both balest. When I get my stuff in I think I'll make a how to on this.




Edit: Ive had a set of xantec hids for my head lights and lasted for 3 years. And there 37 shipped!!!!!
diznan88 is offline  
post #9 of 31 (permalink) Old 05-11-2011, 11:45 AM
SRTforums Member
 
BoostinBen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NEOH
Posts: 6,107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Ebay always has angel eye fogs which I do not want. I'd like a new set of fogs but don't want that angel eye bullshit.
BoostinBen is offline  
post #10 of 31 (permalink) Old 05-11-2011, 12:52 PM
SRTforums Member
 
diznan88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Windermere
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
U can get oem style fogs. That's what I ended up buying.
diznan88 is offline  
post #11 of 31 (permalink) Old 05-11-2011, 01:20 PM
SRTforums Member
 
BoostinBen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NEOH
Posts: 6,107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have OEM fogs, but the light output is terrible in retrospect to my retrofits, so I never use them. I have contemplated either making covers for them or getting a decent set of aftermarket ones with good white light output.
BoostinBen is offline  
post #12 of 31 (permalink) Old 05-12-2011, 04:48 PM Thread Starter
SRTforums Member
 
jonnybuff4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Fairfield, Ca
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
i have the stock foglights.i just wanna put hids in..so will these have everything i need and work with stock fogs
35W H10 9145 XENON HID CONVERSION FOG LIGHT KIT 8000K | eBay

jonnybuff4life is offline  
post #13 of 31 (permalink) Old 05-14-2011, 10:01 AM
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Mansfield, Ohio
Posts: 1,347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by diznan88 View Post
Edit: Ive had a set of xantec hids for my head lights and lasted for 3 years. And there 37 shipped!!!!!

I've been through two Xentec kits and relay harnesses, all four were DOA. Even hooking them up directly, no worky. Thought maybe my MFS was dead, nope.

So I just left the f'n things in there until I get around taking them out. Complete waste of money for me.
burks is offline  
post #14 of 31 (permalink) Old 05-14-2011, 10:20 AM
SRTforums Member
 
BoostinBen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NEOH
Posts: 6,107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I've never had a problem with Xantec, either. My Greddy slim ballast went out after a year of use
BoostinBen is offline  
post #15 of 31 (permalink) Old 11-05-2011, 06:08 AM
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Guangzhou,China
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I use h4 hilo bulb with replay harness too, no any poblem. I also introduce hid kits with canbus to you.

Guangzhou Ketai Industrial Co., Limited-Manufactory & Exporter
Mr. John Smith, (General Manager);Email:sales@ketaiic.com;MSN:salesketai@ho tmail.com;Skype:ketaiic;Gtalk:ketaijohn@gmail.com
Tel: +86-20-2898 4035(Direct line);Fax: +86-20-2898 4025;Mobile:+86-13126457487;Http://www.ketaiic.com;http://salesk...alimporter.net
Add:No.33, Tianxin Er Rd., Dayuan Village, Taihe town, Baiyun Dist., Guangzhou, China
ketaiic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome