Dodge Hemi Ram 0-60 and 1/4 mile? - Dodge SRT Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-15-2005, 04:11 PM Thread Starter
SRTforums Member
 
FlameRedSRT4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Martinez
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Dodge Hemi Ram 0-60 and 1/4 mile?

So one of my friends works with someone who is is convinced that he can take me in a race. I asked him what he has and he says that he has a Dodge Ram with a Hemi engine and automatic. Was just wondering how fast the Hemi Version of this truck is. I know that he has no chance to beat me since the SRT10 Ram does like a 4.9 and 13.6 or so, and his truck has what maybe 170 less HP then that one does. He just keeps saying that he can beat me and wants to race, one of these days I am going to have to shut him up. The stock srt4 does a 5.5 and 14.0, or somewhere in that range. Im runing stage 0 at the moment but stage one is on the way. I have a AEM intake and exhaust are my only performance mods.
FlameRedSRT4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-15-2005, 04:24 PM
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
if he's stock you will beat him pretty good. Just make sure he's stock. even modded I think you won't have a real tough time. My brother has a regular cab hemi ram auto but has STS's turbo kit put in it and we haven't raced yet, but I'm pretty sure I could beat him still. I also have S2 w/out toys though. Race him and find out what happens!!!!! I think stock they are like 7.0 and 15.1
mitty36 is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-15-2005, 04:25 PM
SRTforums Member
 
veritas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
You sure he's stock?

Alright, according to MT, these are the numbers for a Ram 1500 SLT Hemi...

0-60: 6.8Sec
1/4: 15.11@89.06MPH
veritas is offline  
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-15-2005, 06:18 PM Thread Starter
SRTforums Member
 
FlameRedSRT4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Martinez
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
yeah he stock, at least he says so

as far as I know he is stock. He tells my friend that he is so I should not have any problems. Sucks that it is raining right now. Supposed to rain all week too.

thanks for the info
FlameRedSRT4 is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-15-2005, 08:33 PM
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
that truck in motor trend was also 2wd so if he's a 4x4 then he's gonna be even slower!! Let us know what happens!!!
mitty36 is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-15-2005, 08:35 PM
SRTforums Member
 
veritas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
It depends on how the 4wd in the Ram works, but you might be right.
veritas is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-15-2005, 08:45 PM
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
my bro's 4x4 was slower than my friends 2wd. my brother also had the 20's on too though but I guess the one in motor trend did too. If this guys hemi doesn't have the 20's that will help him alittle but still I don't believe it's not going to be close. Maybe right out of the hole it will be, but after the stock hemi shifts into 2nd at around 40-45mph he is screwed!!! My bro's truck was soooooo dead right there when he didn't have his turbo kit on.
mitty36 is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-16-2005, 01:19 AM
SRTforums Member
 
Jerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: AK to NH
Posts: 2,638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
There is also a Torque Management System on the Hemi Rams. With that removed they can pull mid to low 14's without any other mods. So with a little modding and that removed he could give you a run for your money, but I doubt that will happen.

Stage 2 Coilovers, Stage 2 No Toys, Mopar STS, Thermal Exhaust w/Cat, 18" Centerline RPM's w/225Goodyear Eagle F1's.
Jerod is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-16-2005, 01:40 AM
SRTforums Member
 
Killer_Mopar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lorain, OH
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerod
There is also a Torque Management System on the Hemi Rams. With that removed they can pull mid to low 14's without any other mods.
There is no device that removes the TMS. The 2003s can get a superchip's tuner and the 2004s can get hypertech's tuner and that gives it a little hp and makes it shift a little more aggressively, but it doesnt get rid of the TMS.....Both years can get CAIs, Headers, and Catbacks, but even with all that, their still barely cracking into the 13s. The Hemi does respond very very well to nitrous and there are a few superchargers that are starting to get released for the Rams. Even if the guy is modded, you'll win unless he had nitrous or boost....
Killer_Mopar is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-16-2005, 01:54 AM
SRTforums Member
 
Jerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: AK to NH
Posts: 2,638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
You can "remove" the torque management so to speak by cutting the wires that control it. How about a Hemi Longbed turning 13.7 with only 100 bucks in mods... http://dodgetruckworld.tenmagazines....pos=1&id=85045 They are very capable trucks if you know what you are doing. Also, the reson why the SRT10 Rams are doing 13.6's is because people have a very hard time driving them. (Manual Trans) The Quad Cab Auto SRT10 Rams are running 13.6 stock, and they are much heavier than the Reg Cab. It is all about the driver on those.

Stage 2 Coilovers, Stage 2 No Toys, Mopar STS, Thermal Exhaust w/Cat, 18" Centerline RPM's w/225Goodyear Eagle F1's.

Last edited by Jerod; 02-16-2005 at 02:02 AM.
Jerod is offline  
post #11 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-16-2005, 02:17 AM
SRTforums Member
 
dangerously_cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Martinez, CA
Posts: 4,629
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hemi truck in Martinez? Send it to me in a month and I'll beat him.


Gone to those big twisties in the sky.
dangerously_cool is offline  
post #12 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-16-2005, 05:43 PM
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
the 2004's can also remove the tmr also. it's just a different wire.
mitty36 is offline  
post #13 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-16-2005, 05:50 PM
SRTforums Member
 
hemidakota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Oceanside, Cali
Posts: 26,203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlameRedSRT4
So one of my friends works with someone who is is convinced that he can take me in a race. I asked him what he has and he says that he has a Dodge Ram with a Hemi engine and automatic. Was just wondering how fast the Hemi Version of this truck is. I know that he has no chance to beat me since the SRT10 Ram does like a 4.9 and 13.6 or so, and his truck has what maybe 170 less HP then that one does. He just keeps saying that he can beat me and wants to race, one of these days I am going to have to shut him up. The stock srt4 does a 5.5 and 14.0, or somewhere in that range. Im runing stage 0 at the moment but stage one is on the way. I have a AEM intake and exhaust are my only performance mods.
Stock 1500 model? No problem....as long he is not force induction then it changes
hemidakota is offline  
post #14 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-16-2005, 05:51 PM
SRTforums Member
 
hemidakota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Oceanside, Cali
Posts: 26,203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerod
You can "remove" the torque management so to speak by cutting the wires that control it. How about a Hemi Longbed turning 13.7 with only 100 bucks in mods... http://dodgetruckworld.tenmagazines....pos=1&id=85045 They are very capable trucks if you know what you are doing. Also, the reson why the SRT10 Rams are doing 13.6's is because people have a very hard time driving them. (Manual Trans) The Quad Cab Auto SRT10 Rams are running 13.6 stock, and they are much heavier than the Reg Cab. It is all about the driver on those.
12.9 seconds at Englishtown when tested by a Mopar driver.
hemidakota is offline  
post #15 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-16-2005, 05:57 PM
SRTforums Member
 
GetMeSRT!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Visalia, CA
Posts: 2,542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by hemidakota
12.9 seconds at Englishtown when tested by a Mopar driver.
The keyword there is Englishtown...

GetMeSRT! is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome