Unplug TPS and problem solved - SRT Forums - SRT4, SRT6, SRT8, SRT10 & Dodge Forum
 
 


Go Back   SRT Forums - SRT4, SRT6, SRT8, SRT10 & Dodge Forum > SRT-4 Technical Discussion > SRT-4 Discussion

SrtForums.com is the premier Dodge SRT Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-29-2007, 06:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member Number: 11964
Location: canada
Posts: 256
Default Unplug TPS and problem solved

I had a bad idle since I bought the car in 2004. I searched the forums to get all the possible reasons for a bad idle and came out with many reasons.


Now I think I might have found the issue but need a confimation from the gurus here. If I unplug my TPS sensor, the idle problem dissapear. The engine will almost stall but recovers and after that everything is fine at idle. Of course this makes the PCM freak and throw a P0123 but I know how to reset this. If I plug it back, the problem comes back instantly.

I do not have a sticky tach or any weird issues besides the car having a hard starts and bad idle.

I replaced the IAC already and did the rewire on the TPS. I didn't change anything but when I wiggled all the wires it woudn't make the car idle better or worse anways.

I think it is the TPS sensor itself but can anyone confirm from what I have told so far. Or is unplugging the TPS and Incorrect way to diagnose...


Please let me know

Thanks


PS: If I start the car when it is completely cold it will idle perfectly fine for at least 10 seconds before the idle gets rougher. So it has to be a sensor thing...
tiny99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-29-2007, 07:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Mario Leonard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Member Number: 29764
Location: Illinois
Posts: 244
Default

If you have a digital multimeter, test the voltage output on the TPS signal output wire, I believe it is the orange/dark blue wire. It should have a start out at a lower voltage and increase as you open the throttle. If the voltage ever suddenly spikes, or drops, the TPS is bad.
__________________
Mario Leonard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 10:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member Number: 11964
Location: canada
Posts: 256
Default

Nice! thanks for the info. I'll do that.
tiny99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 02:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
parsonsproject's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Member Number: 14704
Location: CO
Posts: 845
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by Mario Leonard
If you have a digital multimeter, test the voltage output on the TPS signal output wire, I believe it is the orange/dark blue wire. It should have a start out at a lower voltage and increase as you open the throttle. If the voltage ever suddenly spikes, or drops, the TPS is bad.


By chance do you know the voltage it should be at on idle? Is it a pretty constant voltage or does it change some?
__________________
<-- 2007 coSRToc dyno competition winner, stock turbo class [298whp/344wtq] on 91 pump, 50/50 w/m, untuned stg1-->
parsonsproject is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 07:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member Number: 11964
Location: canada
Posts: 256
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by parsonsproject
Quote: Originally Posted by Mario Leonard
If you have a digital multimeter, test the voltage output on the TPS signal output wire, I believe it is the orange/dark blue wire. It should have a start out at a lower voltage and increase as you open the throttle. If the voltage ever suddenly spikes, or drops, the TPS is bad.


By chance do you know the voltage it should be at on idle? Is it a pretty constant voltage or does it change some?

I checked it and gave me 0.77-0.78 volts at idle and 3.8 volts at WOT.

In Nivo's thread about the TPS fix, he says his TPS would change from 0.71 to 0.81 just by slamming the door on the car. I think my little 0.01 of variance at idle must be normal...

I think the usual TPS value must be 0.7XX at idle and 3.8X at WOT.
Please refer to the TPS thread by Nivo
tiny99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2007, 04:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
RSchyns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member Number: 2019
Location: CT River Valley
Posts: 2,247
Default

These should help...







Last edited by RSchyns; 06-01-2007 at 11:27 AM.
RSchyns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 10:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member Number: 11964
Location: canada
Posts: 256
Default

Wow thanks a lot!!
tiny99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 10:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Premium Member (Lifetime)
 
Jmhm17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member Number: 24437
Location: Worcester, MA
Posts: 3,240
Lifetime Premium Member
Default

it dosent stall cause of the IAC.. if you pull both of them and its still running you have a vac leak.. dose sound like a bad TPS but you would see a problem while your driving and you would mostlikly throw that code with is pluged in.
__________________
* Disclaimer...The above post may or may not have misspelled words ...deal with it...
**Sold**
Best E/T 12.699 @ 108.97
Best MPH 12.856 @ 110.32

Last edited by Jmhm17; 06-01-2007 at 10:55 AM.
Jmhm17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 10:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member Number: 11964
Location: canada
Posts: 256
Default

Thanks but I knew that. If I unplug the IAC the car does stall...
tiny99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 04:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member Number: 11964
Location: canada
Posts: 256
Default

Update!

Well I changed the tps and it didn't change the crappy idle... but the car really goes now. There was something wrong with the TPS. All lower throttle operation were kinda messed up.
tiny99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 05:12 PM   #11 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
19 psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member Number: 12457
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 5,381
Default

Quote: Originally Posted by tiny99
Update!

Well I changed the tps and it didn't change the crappy idle... but the car really goes now. There was something wrong with the TPS. All lower throttle operation were kinda messed up.

Did you check to make sure its not the TPS wire thats the problem? Theres three wires hanging off, two oranges and a black w/blue stripe. The black with blue stripe is usually the culprit. Last year happened to me (and everyone else it seems) car suddenly runs really shitty, code not always present. Sure enough about 2" down from the TPS sensor itself, the wire was sevored. I saudered it back together and car ran like new again. Did'nt need to purchase anything.....
Though note, upon first glance at the wire it seemed fine and good to go but infact it was still sevored just underneith the outer rubber coating. So it sometimes takes a keen eye to see and fix......
__________________
OPERATION NEON HEADLIGHTS 2.0 HAS BEGUN
(50watt ballasts, ZKW clear lenses!, projector fogs)
___________________
19 psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 06:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member Number: 11964
Location: canada
Posts: 256
Default

Yeah thanks for the warning but I already took care of that. I orderd the TPS sensor and the rewire kit as well. I cut the 3 wires 5 inch down from the sensor. I soldered instead of crimping the wires together. I changed the sensor after that and unplugged the batt for a little while.

All said and done, the idle didn't change much. But the car drives much better. I really think there was something wrong either with the wires or the sensor. Before all that, I couldn't launch the car very well. It would either bog down or go too much. It's almost like the lower throttle range disappeared. I don't think it was the wires.

Are you stage 2? Is your idle always even?? Mine has a slight miss. I have come to think that the larger S2 injectors are the culprit.

Thanks for your help!

Last edited by tiny99; 06-10-2007 at 06:05 PM.
tiny99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 06:23 PM   #13 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
19 psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member Number: 12457
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 5,381
Default

I am S2 no toys. The only time I ever experience an idle problem is rare. Sometimes when I have the air conditioning on, and I let of the gas at low RPM's in 1st gear, the car sometimes feels like it wants to die and idles crappy for a little bit, but now that im typing it, it sounds more like a parasidic power loss situation rather than an idle problem....
__________________
OPERATION NEON HEADLIGHTS 2.0 HAS BEGUN
(50watt ballasts, ZKW clear lenses!, projector fogs)
___________________
19 psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 06:42 PM   #14 (permalink)
SRTforums Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member Number: 11964
Location: canada
Posts: 256
Default

Ok thanks for the info.
tiny99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:44 PM.



(C) SRTforums.com

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2